African Union
Upstairs Music
CD / Digital Release
March 18, 2013

Track list
  1. African Union
  2. Sweet Mother Land
  3. Terror In the Ghetto
  4. Mark My Word
  5. We The People
  6. Third World
  7. Jungle Society
  8. Exercise
  9. She Is So Pretty
  10. She Is a Pearl
  11. I Want You Back
  12. No Separation
  13. Come Together
  14. One World
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Although Dalton Lindo aka Screwdriver may not be a familiar name to the international reggae massive, the singer has been active in the reggae scene since the mid-1980s, when he travelled from Saint James Parish to Kingston, where he met and was encouraged in his musical career by Beres Hammond. Inspired by artists likes Tenor Saw, Pinchers, Pliers, and Spanner Banner, he began recording in 1986, having hits with "We Rule", "Soundboy Killa", "Family Counsellor", and "Here I Come".

In 1989 he topped the Jamaican charts with "No Mama (Sharon Yuh Pregnant?)", which became a major hit throughout the Caribbean. In the early 1990s he relocated to Florida, and further hits followed with "Reggae On Broadway", "Teach Dem", and "HIV". In 1995 he released the album "Calling Calling", on which he blended hip hop and R&B with dancehall. 1996 saw the release of Screwdriver's self-produced album "Let Me Remind You", which was followed by the albums "Prophecy" in 2001 and "Road Block" in 2007.

With his latest album, "African Union", Screwdriver hails the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), which celebrates its 50th anniversary in May 2013. Produced by Danny Breakenridge, the riddims for this collection of tunes feature contributions of veteran musicians like Dean Fraser, Tony Green, David Madden, Chico Chin, Paul Gauntlet, Dwight Pinkney and Mallory Williams.

The album kicks off in great style with four tracks that instantly make a serious impression. The title track, "African Union", is a strong and convincing effort. It is followed and outmatched by the next tune, the impressive "Sweet Mother Land". Compared with the previous two tracks, "Terror In The Ghetto" touches a different theme, but nevertheless is another strong tune. The same goes for "Mark My Word", although this one doesn't sound that exceptional at very first hear. With such strong tracks at the beginning of an album, it's hard to maintain the high quality throughout. And that's exactly what can be witnessed while listening to the remaining tracks. It are efforts such as "Jungle Society" across a relick of the classic "Pressure & Slide" riddim, "Excercise", "Third World", and the solid lovers piece "She Is A Pearl" on the "Hard Time Rock" riddim, that can be ranked among the best of the rest.

All in all, Screwdriver's "African Union" is a good album, worth checking out.