Suga Roy & Fireball Crew
Fireball Records
CD / Digital Release
July 21, 2013

Track list
  1. Intro by Yvette Marshall from WAVS Radio
  2. My Life
  3. Slave Driver
  4. Murderer feat. Rawmed
  5. Jah Give Me The Power
  6. Jah Nah Sleep feat. Conrad Crystal
  7. Highest Of Grades feat. Jahvante
  8. Officer
  9. Your Love feat. Shawna
  10. So Devine feat. Rawmed
  11. Meditation
  12. Hello Carol feat. Conrad Crystal (Bonus Track)
  13. I Know (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
After having released a number of singles and albums -- the latter including "Highest Grade", "Suga Roy & Conrad Crystal & The Great Icons Of Reggae", and "Universal Tribute To Gregory Isaacs" -- with his singing partner Conrad Crystal, deejay/producer Leroy Moore aka Suga Roy now comes up with a solo album called "Meditation". Half of the vocal tracks feature guest appearances by Rawmed, Jahvante, Shawna, and, of course as one could expect, Conrad Crystal, which is a good thing as it adds some (vocal) variation to an album.

After the nice spoken intro by Yvette Marshall, in which she states that "Reggae music has been and continues to be one of the most influential genres of music world wide", the listener is treated to 12 tracks of roots and lovers style 'one drop' reggae music. Riddimwise this set offers backdrops from the '70s and '80s that most reggae fans will fondly remember, and thus the first vocal track - the great "My Life" - is underpinned by an awesome roots riddim reminiscent of early Roots Radics. After this worthwhile track, it's "Slave Driver" (not a cover!) that turns out to be a fully convincing and matching tune with a great conscious vibe.

The previous single "(Dem A) Murderer", a collaboration with Rawmed, has a different vibe but is simply a joy to listen to. The same goes for "Jah Give Me The Power", a very strong message-filled tune with lyrics that keep you involved throughout. For "Jah Nah Sleep", delivered on the "Skeng Eh 12" aka "Irie Feelings" riddim, Suga Roy collaborates with Conrad Crystal and once again both artists show that they form a winning team. Highest Of Grades" over Bob Marley's "Wait In Vain" riddim rounds off the first half of this album in fine style. And although "Officer" on Larry Marshall's "Throw Me Corn" riddim is a real good effort, the consistency and quality from the first part of this album isn't maintained in the second part. The title track "Meditation" and also the excellent album closer "I Know" make a very good impression, but "Your Love" and especially "So Devine" (with a really bad singing Rawmed) are truly disappointing efforts. So these tracks get the 'skip' treatment, which says it all.

All in all this "Meditation" set has nuff entertaining moments to make it worthwhile checking out.