Beware Dub
Yabby You & The Prophets
Pressure Sounds
CD / Vinyl LP / Digital release
October 14, 2016

Track list
  1. Conquering Lion Dub Plate Mix (Previously Unreleased)
  2. Beware Dub
  3. Peace
  4. Give Praises
  5. Together
  6. Plague
  7. Freedom
  8. Deliverance
  9. Prophets
  10. Feel Alright
  11. Praises
  12. Selassie I Memorial
  13. Sensimillia feat. Tommy McCook
  14. Life Money Version
  15. Marshall Dreadlocks Version
  16. Dicky Burton - God Is Watching You Dub Plate Mix (Previously Unreleased)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 11-
Very Good -Votes: 7-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 19
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 5
Singer/producer Vivian Jackson aka Yabby You, leading a vocal group that included members Alrick Forbes, Richard 'Dada' Smith, Bobby Melody and the Ralph Brothers, had been releasing records like the stunning debut single "Conquering Lion", "Love Thy Neighbours" and "Love Of Jah" on his Prophets label since the autumn of 1972, before he unleashed his very first vocal album in 1975, the superb "Conquering Lion" (released as "Ram A Dam" on Dennis Harris' DIP label in the UK in early 1976). Because he worked extensively with King Tubby, his historic "King Tubby's Prophesy Of Dub" - one of the premier dub albums of the 1970s - was released in 1976 in a limited edition of 500 copies (reissued by the defunct Blood & Fire with two essential extra tracks in 1995). These releases fully established Yabby You as a roots artist of the first order.

A mere three years later he came up with another indispensable dub album entitled "Beware Dub", which originally was released on Grove Music in the UK. In 1981 it got reissued on a French label named Jah Live with a reshuffled track listing, while in 1991 ROIR rereleased it on cd. And now Pressure Sounds, after having released the excellent Yabby You compilations "Deeper Roots Pts 1 & 2" in 2014, reissue an expanded edition of "Beware Dub". The latter includes the original 10 tracks plus previously unreleased Dub Plate mixes of Yabby You's "Conquering Lion" and Dickie Burton's "God Is Watching You" along with 4 dub versions of Yabby You produced tunes from Charlie Morrison ("Selasie Memorial"), Wayne Wade's ("Stylistic Dreadlocks"), Tommy McCook ("Sensimilla") and Prince Pompado ("Money Can't Buy Life").

Although one might assume that the original "Beware Dub" was mixed as one LP, it actually was a collection of version sides from 7" singles compiled by Yabby You. Compared to "King Tubby's Prophesy Of Dub", the riddims on the "Beware Dub" set are a bit more on the sparse side, yet the dubs are still highly compelling and emphasize just how important percussion and horns were to Yabby You's music. The majestic riddims featured here were laid by the Revolutionaries and the Gladiators, who had become friends and collaborators with Yabby You by this point. Furthermore the mixing is now shared by King Tubby and his apprentice Lloyd James aka Prince Jammy, while "King Tubby's Prophesy Of Dub" was entirely done by the dub genius himself.

Opening this album is Yabby You's pioneering "Conquering Lion", which appears here as previously unreleased Dub Plate mix with vocals solely accompanied by an organ. It's then "Beware Dub", one of the dub versions of "Conquering Lion", that starts off the 10 tracks from the original "Beware Dub" album, although the original started with "Peace". The latter, a real head nodder with great sax play by Tommy McCook, is followed by an alternate mix called "Give Praises" (dub of "Give Thanks And Praise" by The Prophets/Gladiators), which is especially good. Next comes a wicked dub version of Tony Tuff's "We Want No War" entitled "Together", which is followed by "Plague", Tubby's interpretation of The Prophets' "King Pharaoh's Plague". Yabby You's "Free Africa", featured on the original soundtrack of "Babylon", gets a mind-blowing dub treatment called "Freedom" - a dub that incorporates a killer bassline, vocal fragments and horns. "Deliverance" is a stripped down version of Yabby You's "Vengeance" (originally recorded at Black Ark by Lee Perry), while the outstanding "Prophets" is a version of "We Want Our Liberty" by Lenroy Swaby. "Feel Alright" is a killer recut of the riddim known from Nathan Skyers' "Reggae Uptight". After "Praises", the last track from the original "Beware Dub", there are more gorgeous dub sides to fulljoy. Of course there's a Tommy McCook, a crucial player in Yabby You's work from the mid '70s, which is really nice to hear, but those that simply need to go on repeat are the glorious "Selassie I Memorial" and "Marshall Dreadlocks". The album is rounded off with a next cut to Yabby You's "Conquering Lion", the Dub Plate mix of Dicky Burton's roots killer "God Is Watching You".

"Beware Dub" is a must. An essential release for any vintage dub collector!