First Riddim
Roots Survival Records
Digital Release
March 11, 2013

Track list
  1. Luciano - Wicked Babylon
  2. Turbulence - Beware
  3. Cutty Ranks - Global Warning
  4. Turbulence & Cutty Ranks - Beware RMX
  5. General Levy - General
  6. Macka B - Jah Rainbow
  7. Peppery - Take U From Him
  8. Solo Banton - I Can't Believe
  9. Poly Famous & Jaggy D - Only Thing For Me
  10. Chevaughn - Woman Of The Nile Valley
  11. Georges Fyah - Jah Jah Children
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
After having scored a string of hits on the "Protection" and "World Citizen" riddims in 2010 and 2011 respectively, French producer Damalistik aka Roots Survival now returns in full force with the "First" riddim. For those familiar with the computerized "Protection" riddim, the "First" riddim will not be totally new to their ears, because it's basically a live instrumental counterpart to the "Protection".

After having worked with a.o. Konshens, I-Octane, Lutan Fyah, Gyptian, YT, Robert Lee, and Deadly Hunta, it's now time for another worthy selection of artists that have voiced a cut on a Damalistik produced riddim. Included are topnotch artists such as Luciano, Turbulence, Cutty Ranks, Macka B, and General Levy, as well as ambitious up-and-comers like Peppery, Poly Famous, Jaggy D, and Georges Fyah. Luciano, who is in superb vocal form, makes a serious impression with the powerful "Wicked Babylon" in which he warns against the wicked babylonian system. In "Beware" Turbulence points out the dangers of dealing with unruly women, while Cutty Ranks' "Global Warning" is a call for environment protectors. Then there's a guest appearance of Cutty Ranks on Turbulence's "Beware RMX", making this track an even better effort than the original piece.

Time to give way to the English reggae posse with General Levy being the leader of the pack with the strong "General", confirming that "from the day mi born mi a general", in case you didn't know. Also Birmingham veteran chatter Macka B delivers an above par tune called "Jah Rainbow". The nice "Take U From Him" by deejay Peppery contains a lesson for all gals, who love their men. Solo Banton's solid "I Can't Believe", a song that previously appeared on his album "Higher Levels", reveals his disgust over fake friends. Of the remaining three efforts, Chevaughn's "Woman Of The Nile Valley" makes the best impression, although Georges Fyah's "Jah Jah Children" isn't far behind.

The "First" riddim has been laid by Bill Casper (guitar), Damalistik (guitar, keys and programming), Sam Gilly of House Of Riddim (drums), Djei Gogo (bass), Radimo (sax), and Matic Horns aka Henry "Buttons" Tenyue (trombone).