Freedom Rockers Riddim
Digital Release
September 13, 2013

Track list
Digital album:
  1. David 'Steel Pulse' Hinds - Soon Come
  2. Joseph Cotton - Water Scorcher
  3. Papa Kojak - Words Of Reality
  4. Zareb - Give Praises
  5. John Blazz - Most High
  6. Troublesome - Blaze My Herbs
  7. KG Man - Mr. Weed
  8. General Levy - Flick Flick
  9. G Vibes - Globalization
  10. Carlton Livingston - High Horse
  11. Carlton Livingston & ASM - Higher Horse
  12. Rootsamala - Freedom Train
  13. Guive & Professor Liv'High - Doctor Reason & Mr. Heart
  14. Dub Terror & BDF - Freedom Rockers Dub
7" Singles:
  • David 'Steel Pulse' Hinds - "Soon Come" / Guive & Liv'High - "Dr.Reason & Mr. Heart"
  • General Levy - "Flick Flick" / Dub Terror & BDF - "Freedom Rockers Dub"
  • Joseph Cotton - "Water Scorcher" / Rootsamala - "Freedom Train"
  • Carlton Livingston - "High Horse"/ Carlton Livingston - "Higher Horse"
  • Zareb - "Give Praises" / Papa Kojak - "Words of Reality"
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
The latest collaboration between Inyaki Yarritu, the mastermind behind BDF (Basque Dub Foundation), and Paris-based Heartical record label has led to the release of the "Freedom Rockers" compilation; a brand new 'one riddim' set that features contributions from artists from Jamaica, England, France, Italy and Spain. Most reggae fans will probably associate BDF and the Heartical label with revamped versions of classic riddims such as "Real Rock", "Promised Land", "I Know Myself", "Tonite", "Far East", and "Slaving".

However in 2008 they released an original riddim created by Inyaki Yarritu, the excellent "Ministerio Del Dub", which featured cuts from the late Alton Ellis and Sugar Minott amongst many others. And now, five years after the release of that riddim project, there's the second fresh original riddim called "Freedom Rockers" that sees the light of day. Just like the "Ministerio Del Dub", this "Freedom Rockers" riddim carries the sound and vibe of the 1970s, an era that is often referred to as the heydays of reggae music.

After having voiced the "Ministerio Del Dub" and "Tonite" riddims, Steel Pulse's lead vocalist, David Hinds, comes up with another solid effort on the Heartical label. With "Soon Come", a reflection on woman and man sometimes complicated relationships, he delivers a tune that is worth hearing. This album opener is followed by Joseph Cotton's "Water Scorcher". The veteran Jamaican deejay (formerly known as Jah Walton) rides the riddim in fine style, reminding us how precious water can be. However, Papa Kojak - the other veteran deejay who has voiced the riddim - makes a better impression with the superb "Words Of Reality". All in all these three tracks form a very satisfying and entertaining opening part of this compilation.

Heartical stalwart Zareb (formerly known as Mr. Flash) seems to be at ease with these kinda riddims as he hardly ever disappoints when he voices cuts for the label. And thus it's not surprising that the singer's "Give Praises" turns out to be a worthy conscious song. More niceness comes from the "Wickeder" General Levy, whose ganja tune "Flick Flick" is delivered in the General's inimitable style. BOOM tune!! Vocally and lyrically Jamaican veteran singer Carlton Livingston is in real good shape. The listener is treated to two versions of his "High Horse" song; the solo version and the collaboration with the UK rap trio A State Of Mind (ASM). Especially the solo version is worth hearing over and over again. When it comes to international lesser known names, it's Jamaican singer/producer John Blazz, upcoming Italian singjay KG Man and the French male/female duo Guive & Professor Liv'High, whose cuts leave a good impression. The set is rounded off by "Freedom Rockers Dub", courtesy of Dub Terror who also mixed the whole selection.

Fans of Reggae music with a strong vintage feel are urged to check this one! Satisfaction guaranteed!!