Hotta Step Riddim
Chiney K Records
Digital Release
August 25, 2013

Track list
  1. Chiney K - Good Old Days
  2. Bubba - Bagga Things
  3. Ataru - Meditate
  4. Luciano feat. Nitty Kutchie - Freedom
  5. Ginjah - Don't Violate
  6. High Grade feat. Chico - High Grade
  7. Jimmy Riley - More Life
  8. Lady G - Mr. Right Now
  9. Turbulence - Mama Africa
  10. Lutan Fyah - Duh Officer
  11. Magma - Emmanual
  12. Powerman - Concrete Jungle
  13. Sizzla feat. Anthony Red Rose - Mr. Right
  14. Exco Levi - Talk Talk
  15. Teflon - Far From Evil
  16. Chiney K - Hotta Step Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
In recent times Chiney K Productions, based out of Kingston Jamaica, have drawn attention with their consistently impressive production works including riddims such as "Conquering Lion", "People's Cry", "Dub A Rub", "9-5", and "Di System" to name only five. And now the label is back with the brilliant "Hotta Step Riddim", which actually goes back to the heydays of Roots Reggae music as this riddim is a well done relick of Burning Spear's 1975 roots anthem "Slavery Days".

The "Hotta Step" riddim incorporates a tremendous hard hitting bassline and impeccable horns, which makes it great to hear, especially for those with red, gold & green eardrums. Add to this an artist lineup that features top-a-top names such as Luciano, Lutan Fyah, Turbulence, Lady G, Jimmy Riley, and Sizzla, and you know you can expect quite a few real good cuts across the riddim. And although big names aren't always a guarantee for delivering deadly goods, in this case they certainly don't disappoint. After Chiney K's name dropping on "Good Old Days", and decent efforts from both Bubba and Ataru aka A'Taru, it's time for the first standout piece to drop in - the combination tune "Freedom" by Luciano & Nitty Kutchie. Big tune!!

Then Ginjah comes up with "Don't Violate" for which he utilizes a totally different vocal style. He sounds like a Sizzla clone and that's a real pity because we've always rated him high. We can only hope that this is a one-off thing. After three solid efforts by High Grade feat. Chico, veteran singer Jimmmy Riley, and Lady G, it's Turbulence who delivers the next big tune called "Mama Africa" followed by the matching "Duh Officer" by Lutan Fyah, who consistently comes up with real good tunes. Newcomer Magma surprises with the solid "Emmanual", while Sizzla & Anthony Red Rose make a good impression throughout with "Mr. Right". However, the biggest winner on this juggling set is Exco Levi's wicked "Talk Talk".

There are some really good songs here and you should definitely check this one out for yourself.