Mixed Feelings Riddim
Digital Release
November 25, 2013

Track list
  1. Mavado - Only If You
  2. Bugle - Never Lose Faith
  3. Konshens - Champion
  4. Jah Vinci - Rise Again
  5. Khago - Yutes
  6. Sagitarr - Girlfriend
  7. Dexta Daps - Tonight
  8. Propa Fade - Naah Trust No Gal
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Early this year Daseca released a sterling juggling set by the name of "Groupie Luv", which is followed by the recently released "Mixed Feelings" riddim. Compared with the "Groupie Luv" this one is on the slower side of things. It actually brings to mind riddims such as "Istanbul", "Drop Leaf", "Guardian Angel", and "Seasons", which were extremely popular around 2005. Thus there's nothing real new coming out of the Daseca camp, but this doesn't imply that the "Mixed Feelings" riddim fails to make a decent impression. On the contrary, when you've heard this 'one drop' riddim and its vocal cuts it's simply hard to forget and even harder to get it out of your head.

A riddim this sweet can't help but inspire lovers material, and so it proves on Mavado's "Only If You". It also shows that the artist who is mainly known for delivering hard hitting dancehall tunes, is fully capable of coming up with a real nice tune that deals with affairs of the heart. Konshens' gyal tune "Champion" affirms that, no matter what riddim he has to ride, he's an artist who hardly ever fails to deliver an appealing song. Also making a decent impression are lesser known artists Sagitarr, Dexta Daps, and Proppa Fade, all touching the lovers theme. While lyrical Sagitarr's "Girlfriend" and Propa Fade's "Naah Trust No Gal" keep it clean, it's Dexta Daps' "Tonight" that contains implicit lyrics. Songs full of consciousness are also included here and with Bugle we have an artist - although not one of the biggest names - whose tunes are always interesting to check. And indeed, "Never Lose Faith" is another Bugle tune worth hearing. Equally talented Jah Vinci delivers the matching "Rise Again", but it's Khago's "Yutes" that steals the honour. Big tune!!

All in all this is a very enjoyable juggling set with every cut worth a spin!