Seal Of Life Riddim
Truckback Records
Digital Release
October 5, 2013

Track list
  1. Singer J - Be There For You
  2. Sophia Squire - My Love, My Love
  3. Mikey Spice - It's True
  4. Chuck Fenda - Sign And Seal
  5. Natalia - It's Complicated
  6. New Kidz - Lovers Rehab
  7. Timeka Marshall - Lying Lover
  8. Mitch - Love's Not Home
  9. Bridgez - Miss Communication
  10. O-Shen - Forget About It
  11. Baby Chris - Blame Cupid
  12. Deh Deh - You've The Only One
  13. Iceman - Thank You Baby
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
The production unit behind Kingston-based Truckback Records is mainly known for putting out top-quality dancehall riddims, which include recent productions like the "Pink Wall" and "Double Muffler" riddims. And although their latest project called "Seal Of Life" isn't a dancehall beat but a fresh original 'one drop' reggae riddim, it lives up to the high standards the brothers Steve and Adrian Locke have set in the last few years.

The sweet sounding "Seal Of Life" riddim -- driven by an awesome bassline -- underpins thirteen entertaining cuts, each and everyone dealing with ups and downs in relationships. And thus these songs are about elation, deceit, joy, heartbreak, sunder, lust, confusion, and of course love. No real big names on the roster of artists that have voiced the riddim, but with such fine vocalists like Sophia Squire, Mikey Spice, Mitch, and Tameka Marshall on board, you know that you're in for a treat when it comes to love songs. And although Chuck Fenda, Anthony "New Kidz" Bennet and Deh Deh aren't exactly names that instantly come to mind regarding these kinda songs, they are present here and, what's more... they don't disappoint at all!! Actually Chuck Fenda's solid "Sign And Seal" can also be found on his recently released new album entitled "Jah Element", while New Kidz's real fine "Lovers Rehab" is featured on his debut album "Check". All songs included here are worth hearing, but hands-down the best tunes are Singer J's "Be There For You", Mikey Spice's "It's True", Tamika Marshall's "Lying Love", and Mitch's "Love's Not Home".

Truly enjoyable and entertaining 'one riddim' set from the always reliable Truckback Records.