Sitting & Watching, You
Gyasi Enterprise
September 21 , 2013

Track list
  1. Papa Michigan - A Milllion
  2. Mikey Jarrett & Jango Thriller - Walk With You
  3. Shaka Ranks - A Little Love
  4. Sensi - Promise
  5. Screechy Dan - Nobody
  6. Asante Amen - Rough A Yard
  7. Rankin Don - Praises To Jah
  8. Paper Posh & Keeling Beckford - Don't Go
  9. Marshall One - Crazy World
  10. Chris Diamond - Deep In My Mind
  11. LMJ - Show Me Love
  12. Jango Thriller - Walk With You
  13. Tasha Lee - La La Means I Love You
  14. Shaka Ranks & Asante Amen - Way It Use To Be
  15. Shaka Ranks - Can't Test My Sound
  16. King Ledgi - Look So Nice
  17. Lee Major - Clapps
  18. Major One - Open Up The Door
  19. Various Artists - Only You
  20. Sitting & Watching, You Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In the spring of 2013, Dennis brown's "Sitting And Watching" riddim - created by the legendary riddim twins Sly & Robbie in 1981 - re-appeared when the duo Beres Hammond & Shaggy scored a hit with their collaboration song "Fight This Feeling". While Shaggy's reggae fusion label Ranch Entertainment Inc. then started to come up with a few more cuts to the riddim, Brooklyn NY based musician/producer Gyasi unleashed his version of the riddim entitled "Sitting & Watching, You". Although being an award winning producer i.e. New York Reggae Producer of the year 1989, the name Gyasi may not be widely known. So let's first introduce the producer, who truly has a big discography, to those who have never heard of him.

Gyasi, born in Kingston Jamaica (1951), started his musical journey in 1962 when he enrolled at the Alpha Boy’s School. In 1974 he migrated to New York and for six years worked as a hired musician. Gyasi was a member of two bands. One was the Black Eagle with lead singer Denroy Morgan of "I'll Do Anything For You" fame and the other being the Creation Band. Gyasi was also a member of the singing group Black Survivors. Gyasi learned the business of music from mentor Barrington (Barry Dread) Bailey of Living Room Studio. During his time at Narrows's records he learned distribution, while during his time working as a store manager for the famous Music Masters - the home of the record label Witty - Gyasi caught the bug to be a music producer. In 1986 he stared his own label. The label didn't take the easy route by employing established stars but featured young artist looking for a break. That formula worked because the label has yielded many hits over the years and several members have gone on with careers in the industry. Here are a few names that have been on the label. Former DJ of the year Peter Metro, the late Toyan, Dobby Dobson, Major Mackerel, Super C, Mad Lion, reggae legend Wayne Smith, Frankie Paul, and Dona V.

Gyasi rarely created his own riddims, but relied on tried and trusted riddims such as "Far East", "Kuff", "Sleng Teng", "Heavenless", "Ba Ba Boom", "Koloko", and Skengdon's "Sweet For My Sweet" to name a few. So not really surprising that he comes up with the well known "Sitting & Watching" riddim, which just like all his other riddim projects incorporates a wicked heavy bass. Also no surprise that there isn't any real big name around. Best known names have to be Papa Michigan from the duo Michigan & Smiley, Screechy Dan, Mikey Jarrett, and Asante Amen. The latter had international hits with songs like "Wipe Your Tears", "Praises" and "I'm Sorry", and shines here with a solid cultural tune called "Rough A Yard". Also gruff voiced Rankin Don, the hardcore dancehall deejay from Brooklyn NY who once scored a big hit with the 12" single "Baddest D.J.", also delivers a decent cultural piece. His "Walk With Jah" is a satisfying effort and this also goes for Marshall One's message tune "Crazy World" and Chris Diamonds' uplifting "Deep In My Mind". However most of the tracks one this 'one riddim' compilation are lovers-oriented tunes. A few of them are renditions of well known classics like Shaka Ranks' "A Little Love" (a version of Jimmy London's remake of Eddy Arnold's "That's All I Want From You") and Tasha Lee's "La La Means I Love You" (the Alton Ellis song, but originally done by the Delfonics). However those lovers tunes that demand special attention are Papa Michigan's "A Million", Mikey Jarrett & Jango Thriller's "Walk With You Milady" (and also Jango Trhiller's solo version), Screechy Dan's "Nobody", and King Ledgi's "So Nice".

Not every track is a winner, but there are quite a few very entertaining tunes across this great pulsating riddim, that keep you rocking from beginning to end.

You can purchase the album HERE.