Stop That Sound Riddim
Irie Ites Records
February 25, 2013

Stop That Sound Riddim - Various Artists Track list
  1. Lutan Fyah & Spectacular - Kill Dem Sound
  2. Bounty Killer - Push Over
  3. Sizzla - Hypocrites
  4. Skarra Mucci & Perfect - Bomboclaat
  5. General Levy - Dub Murda
  6. Ward 21 - Dead Tonight
  7. Deadly Hunta - Dubplate Spillin'
  8. Perfect - Dirty Soundboy
  9. Lion D - Soundboy A Go Dead
  10. Suga Roy & Conrad Crystal - Beat Them Dead
  11. Columbo - Clash Over Gun
  12. Tony D - Badmind
  13. Keith & Tex - The Champion
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Here's a nice bunch of soundbwoy/selekta tunes, underpinned by the 'Stop That Train' riddim, originally done in 1965 by The Spanishtonians, but made famous by the duo Keith & Tex. Clint Eastwood & General Saint took the riddim in 1983 and scored a huge crossover hit in Europe. In 2004 Big yard revitalized the riddim once more, renaming it "The Return" aka "Return To Big Street" and they gave us nice versions by Voicemail ('Jamaican Jiggas'), and Morgan Heritage ('Uncomfortable').

Anyway, the riddim has been adopted by the Irie Ites imprint out of France. The label has been busy for more than 10 years now and has unleashed several fine releases. In 2010 they gave us the 'Party Time' and 'Billie Jean' riddim, a year before they surprised us with the 'A Wo Do Dem' riddim and the 'Strange Things' riddim. Other noteworthy outings were the 'Rocking Time' riddim (2007) and the "Zion' riddim (2005).

The deadly selection opens with a combination big killah tune by Spectacular and Lutan Fyah, followed by the Warlord aka Bounty Killer with an awesome tune called Push Over. Sizzla comes next, his rendition of Hypocrites is good, but cannot equal Bounty Killer's effort. A new combination enters with Bomboclaat, Skarra Mucci and Perfect, who interject their soundbwoy tune with a nursery rhyme snippet. General Levy gives us a true 'murder' tune with Dub Murda. Ward 21 kills 'm tonight on Dead Tonight. Deadly Hunta is a promising newcomer who knows how to deliver a truly fast paced soundbwoy tune.

Perfect returns solo with Dirty Soundboy, starting with a strong intro, but he fails to make a strong impression in the rest of the song. Listen to Lion D - another upcoming artist - whose effort sounds far more powerful. Columbo and Tony D, two unknown artists, deliver two solid tunes and the album closes in perfect style with the original Keith & Tex.

Deadly selection!