New release: G.T. Moore – The Harry J Sessions

by Jan 29, 2018News

G.T. Moore - The Harry J Sessions

The Harry J Sessions

All tracks written by G.T. Moore except `Constant Spring’ and `Stony Hill Dub’ written by James Lascelles.

Recorded at Harry J Recording Studio 1980 / Producer: G.T. Moore
Engineer: David Hamilton / Executive Producer: Hank Targowski
Mixed: Dougie Wardrop

G.T. Moore – vocals, guitar, harmonica, backing vocals
James Lascelles – electric piano, synthesizer
Bud Beadle – alto, tenor and baritone saxophone
Cornell Marshall – drums
Tony Johnson – piano, organ
Dwight Pinckney – guitar
Don Grant – bass

The master tapes of the four tracks that were recorded at the Harry J sessions were only recently discovered. `Utopia’ was the only track that had been given a final mix back in the day. It was released on 7″ on the Black Star Liner later in the year and then reissued on Partial Records in 2014. The other tracks were never mixed until early 2017 when this task was undertaken by Dougie Wardrop. As well as mixing `Jerusalem’ (Gerald did a later version of this tune for Rej Forte’s Jah Works label in the early 1990s), `Working For The Dollar’ and `Constant Spring’, it was decided that `Utopia’ should also enjoy a fresh mix.

   Side A
Reformation Dub
Temple Mount Dub

   Side B
Working For The Dollar
Turn The Wheel Dub
Constant Spring
Stony Hill Dub