Select Page

VP Records’ Massive Bobby Digital Releases

by | Feb 6, 2018 | News

Reggae Anthology Bobby Digital - Serious Times

Two mega packages shining on the works of producer/engineer Bobby Digital

VP Records unleashes Reggae Anthology Bobby Digital – X-tra Wicked & Reggae Anthology Bobby Digital – Serious Times. Both packages provide an impressive overview of his career. Essential stuff!


Reggae Anthology Bobby Digital – X-tra Wicked

Digital B became the ruling production house in the musical revolution that swept through Jamaica from the mid-80s onwards with a lethal selection of dancehall weapons and chartbusting reggae hits. X-Tra Wicked gathers many of his best-ever productions from those heady times when specialist stores were awash with 7″ singles, freshly arrived from Jamaica, and reggae music was once more on the rise.

The 40 track 2CD set comes with a bonus DVD telling the Bobby Digital story from the perspective of people who were there; King Jammy, Bunny Lee, Cleveland ‘Clevie’ Browne, Dean Fraser, Sizzla and others. Directed by Sherkan, the documentary runs 55 minutes.


Disc 1

  1. Peenie Peenie – Shabba Ranks
  2. Lonesome Side – Cocoa Tea
  3. Inaculator – Daddy Lizard
  4. Shake Them Down – Pad Anthony
  5. Love Me Truly – Cocoa Tea & Shabba Ranks
  6. See A Man’s Face – Horace Andy
  7. Bless You – Horace Andy
  8. Little Sound Boy – Johnny Osbourne
  9. Just Reality – Shabba Ranks
  10. Dem Bow – Shabba Ranks
  11. Wicked In Bed – Shabba Ranks
  12. I Can’t Wait – Sanchez
  13. Ebony Eyes – Wayne Wonder
  14. Are You Gonna Say It – Singing Melody
  15. Serious Time – Admiral Tibet, Shabba Ranks & ninjaman
  16. Things A Gwan – Ninjaman
  17. Tek Him – Mad Cobra
  18. Sweet Jamaica – Tony Rebel
  19. Teach Them – Chaka Demus
  20. The Grudge – Buju Banton

Disc 2

  1. Sitting In The Back Seat – Glen Ricks
  2. Play Girl Play—Johnny Osbourne
  3. Keep on Telling Me – Admiral Tibet
  4. Set Me Free – Gregory Isaacs & Ninjaman
  5. Bless Me – Garnett Silk
  6. Victory Is Mine – Leroy Smart
  7. Substitute Lover – Half Pint
  8. Missing You Now – Sanchez
  9. Loverman – Daddy Screw
  10. It A Bun Dem – Red Dragon
  11. Good Looking Gyal – Buju Banton
  12. Carpenter – Pinchers
  13. Find And Kill – Mad Cobra
  14. Yu Woulda Bawl – Terror Fabulous
  15. Long Or Tall – Bounty Killer
  16. No Threat – Cocoa Tea
  17. Respect – Shabba Ranks
  18. Original Full Up – Leroy Sibbles & Beenie Man
  19. Papa Lover – General Degree
  20. I Got The Vibes – Frankie Paul

Reggae Anthology Bobby Digital – Serious Times

Producer Bobby ‘Digital’ Dixon breathed new life into “live” roots reggae with a succession of groundbreaking releases by Garnett Silk, Sizzla and Morgan Heritage that helped restore ‘Rasta music’ to its former glory.

A believer that good music is delivered from the heart, Bobby still releases the occasional batch of songs by artists like Kabaka Pyramid, Iba Mahr, Lymie Murray, Chezidek, Richie Spice and Richie Stephens, confirming his place at the forefront of the genre in the digital age.

This highly desirable three disc set collects together some of the biggest of those big game-changers alongside the hits that secured Bobby Digital’s reputation as a modern-day master of Jamaican music. “Serious Times” contains the best of the producer’s roots reggae and lovers rock catalog.

Both packages include liner notes written by reggae historian John Masouri.


Disc 1

  1. Give It Up – Junior Tucker
  2. Ragga Ragga – Terry Ganzie
  3. No Argument – Bounty Killer
  4. Gun Jezebel – Terror Fabulous
  5. Leave Out A Babylon – Sanchez
  6. Born Again – Mikey Spice
  7. Kingly Character – Garnett Silk
  8. Hold On To Your Love – Garnett Silk, Jimmy Riley
  9. Weep not – Yami Bolo
  10. Chronic – Sanchez
  11. How Them Flex – Cocoa Tea, Prezident Brown
  12. Every Knee Shall Bow – Garnett Silk, Cocoa Tea, Charlie Chaplin
  13. Mystic Chant – Garnett Silk
  14. Seek God – Bounty Killer
  15. Kette Drum – Beenie Man, Determine
  16. Black Woman & Child – Sizzla
  17. Moving On – Cocoa Tea
  18. Everything Is Everything – Singing Melody
  19. Bawl Fire – Capleton
  20. Handle The Ride – Tanya Stephens

Disc 2

  1. Heart Of A Lion – Shabba Ranks
  2. Protect Us Jah – Morgan Heritage
  3. Raggy Road – Capleton
  4. Til I’m Laid To Rest – Buju Banton
  5. Don’t Follow Rumors – Carlton Livingston, Shabba Ranks
  6. I’m Not A King – Cocoa Tea
  7. Good Ways – Sizzla
  8. Never Gonna Give Jah Up – Sugar Minott
  9. Everyman’s Burden – Jah Mali
  10. Don’t Haffi Dread – Morgan Heritage
  11. Country Roads – Morgan Heritage
  12. Grab Yuh Lass – Mikey Spice, Louie Culture
  13. One To One – Buju Banton
  14. Free The People – Ras Shiloh
  15. Thank U Mama – Sizzla
  16. Solid As A Rock – Sizzla
  17. God Above Everything – Anthony B
  18. Blessings Of Jah – Ras Shiloh, Gentleman
  19. Two To One – Half Pint, Anthony B
  20. Gideon Boot – Richie Spice

Disc 3

  1. Heathen Mix – Mixmaster Mighty Mike

Undying Love Riddim Mix

Undying Love Riddim 1995 (Digital B) Mix by djeasy

Boom Bye Bye Riddim Mix

Come Home Riddim Mix

Come Home Riddim Digital B

Party Time Riddim Mix

Party Time Riddim mix 1994 (Digital B) Mix by djeasy

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Reggae Vibes Banner

Latest Reviews