New collection of Bunny Lee productions

by Mar 2, 2019News

Various - Dreads Enter The Gates With Praise

New Collection of Bunny Lee productions from the 1970s | Dreads Enter The Gates With Praise

Soul Jazz Records has released a new collection featuring the heavy ’70s roots reggae of Bunny Lee – a living legend, one of the last of the great Jamaican record producers who helped shape and define reggae music in the 1970s from a small island sound into an internationally successful musical genre.


1. Johnny Clarke – Enter Into His Gates With Praise
2. King Tubby Meets Tommy McCook & The Aggrovators – The Dub Station
3. Gene Rondo – Why You Do That
4. Vin Gordon & The Aggrovators – Magnum Force
5. Jackie Edwards – So Jah Seh
6. The Aggrovators – So Jah Seh Dub
7. Jah Youth – Principle and Dignity
8. King Tubby Meets Tommy McCook & The Aggrovators – King Tubby Dub
9. Jah Stitch – Real Born African
10. The Aggrovators – African Love Call
11. Gene Rondo – A Land Far Away
12. The Uniques – Queen Majesty
13. Johnny Clarke – Time Will Tell
14. The Aggrovators – Drums Of Africa
15. Dillinger & King Tubby – Jah Jah Dub
16. Winston Wright – Marvelous Rocker
17. The Mighty Diamonds – You Should Be Thankful
18. King Tubby, Prince Jammy & The Aggrovators – A Thankful Version
19. Dillinger – Check Sister Jane
20. Prince Jazzbo – The Wormer
21. The Uniques – You Don’t Care For Me
22. Shorty The President – Natty Dread Have Ambition
23. King Tubby and The Aggrovators – This A The Hardest Version

“Dreads Enter The Gates With Praise” features some of the heaviest Jamaican artists including Johnny Clarke, King Tubby, Dillinger, Prince Jazzbo, Tommy McCook, The legendary Aggrovators (featuring Sly & Robbie), The Mighty Diamonds and more. The album includes rare, deep and classic 1970s roots, dub and DJ sounds.

During this era ‘flying cymbals’, crashing reverbs, dark echoing thunderclap gunshots and other ‘implements of sound’ filled his record productions as Bunny Lee explored the outer limits of dub with his friend King Tubby in the mix on wild versions on the flipside of any 7″ single. A Bunny Lee record provides a creative and mysterious hidden guide to reggae music itself, a double-sided three-minute intangible history lesson etched in wax.

His first recordings in the late 1960s were mainly rock steady but as the ’70s approached the music soon began to mutate and slow down into ‘reggae’ as the sound became heavier, more rootsy and the sound itself began to change with the explosion of dub. Bunny ‘Striker’ Lee was at the forefront to this dramatic musical shift into roots reggae, and by this time had become a major producer, capable of working with whoever he chose as world-famous singers, DJs and musicians lined up to work with the charismatic man. Bunny Lee also employed a fluid but stable set of crack session musicians who he named The Aggrovators.

Most of the recordings featured here come from the mid-’70s, a time when Bunny Lee was definitely ‘in the zone,’ releasing heavyweight singles at an almost unstoppable rate. Bunny Lee’s career stretches over five decades and he has upwards of 2,000 production credits on vinyl.

This album comes with extensive sleevenotes, an interview with Bunny Lee, and exclusive photography. The album is available as a massive triple LP vinyl + download code, house inner, full notes, as well as deluxe CD pack with 24-page booklet, and digital album. | Out on the streets on February 28, 2019.