Chronixx – Dread & Terrible EP

by Apr 1, 2014Artist, Reviews

Chronixx- Dread & Terrible EP
Chronixx (Photo: Teacher)

Release Info

Title: Chronixx – Dread & Terrible EP

Label: Chronixx Music | Format: CD-LP-DR | Street date: April 1, 2014 | Website: Chronixx


  1. Alpha & Omega
  2. Here Comes Trouble
  3. Capture Land
  4. Rastaman Wheel Out
  5. Eternal Fire
  6. Spirulina
  7. Like A Whistle
  8. Alpha & Omega [Dub]
  9. Here Comes Trouble [Dub]
  10. Capture Land [Dub]

In recent years producer turned singjay Chronixx (real name Jamar Rolando McNaughton) has become one of the most anticipated up-and-coming Jamaican artists, boosting his recognition worldwide with chart toppers like “Behind Curtain”, “Smile Jamaica” and “Here Comes Trouble”. Besides that it were his well-received shows in Jamaica and abroad that further cemented his reputation and created a hype.

Being the son of Chronicle, he grew up around the likes of Burro Banton, Norris Man and the legendary Gregory Isaacs. Coached by Danny Browne, he recorded his first song with him in 2003, and then at the age of 14, he started producing and building riddims for artists such as Konshens and Munga Honorable and composing riddims such as the “Freezer Riddim” for Icebox Records. He also voiced artists such as Popcaan for Maverick Records. After his brother’s death in 2009, Chronixx became more inspired to ‘push out’ and as fate would have it, in that same year, met some ‘brothers’ who have undoubtedly impacted on the promising artist he is today.

Almost coinciding with the start of his European tour, Chronixx unleashed his highly awaited project called “Dread & Terrible” on all digital platforms on April 1, 2014. The EP contains 10 tracks, made up of 2 already well known tunes, 5 new recordings and 3 dub versions. The John John produced opener “Alpha & Omega” across the “Inna-Rub-A-Dub Style” riddim, an updated version of a rootical backdrop that underpinned Freddie McGregor’s single “Leave Yah” from 1981 (and also Al Campbell’s “You Jamming” from 1980), is an awesome hard hitting roots tune inspired by Chronixx’s Rastafarian beliefs. A killer deep roots anthem!! A different vibe comes from the Winta James produced current hitsingle “Here Comes Trouble”, which appeals to roots and dancehall fans alike. Another great song to listen to.

Then the listener is treated to 5 new efforts, starting with “Capture Land”, another production from Winta James of Overstand JA. Again this producer and Chronixx succeed in coming up with a great effort, in all aspects matching the two previous tracks. The next two tracks sees Chronixx collaborating with Special Deliver Music from Paris, France. “Rastaman Wheel Out” is a real nice tune over a riddim that is inspired by UK produced reggae from the Skinhead era. However, it’s the very strong roots tune “Eternal Fire” that makes a serious impression. Musically “Spirulina”, an ode to the trendy new superfood, and “Like A Whistle” take us outside reggae territory. These two tunes, produced by Zinc Fence Records, are underpinned by fresh dancehall flavoured riddims created by the Zinc Fence Redemption Band. And also on these kinda riddims Chronixx fully showcases his skills and talent. The project is rounded off by three great dub versions.