Various – Idlers Corner Records Volume 1

by Mar 13, 2017Reviews, Various

Various - Idlers Corner Riddim Volume 1
George Palmer

Release Info

Title: Various – Idlers Corner Records Volume 1

Label: Idlers Corner Records | Format: DR | Street date: March 13, 2017 | Website: Idlers Corner Records


  1. Exco Levi – Place Called Earth [Cuss Cuss Mix]
  2. Isha Bel & Blackout JA – Locks Fi Grow
  3. George Palmer – Reggae Vibes [Peenie Peenie Mix]
  4. Tenor Youthman – Truth [Tempo Mix]
  5. Isiah Mentor – God Alone [Stepper Mix]
  6. Murray Man – Come Inna The Dancehall [Botha Mix]
  7. Yami Bolo – Stop The Violence [Peaceful Mix]
  8. Tenor Youthman – Break Down The Walls
  9. I-Maa-Ra – Awaken
  10. King Mas – Reason [King David Mix]
  11. Lisa Dainjah & Ishmel Iki – Mek Dem Gwaan [Stepper Mix]
  12. Tenor Youthman – Ali Button [Crazy Mix]
  13. Carl Meeks – Jah Will Make A Way [Run Down Mix]
  14. Ras Xtr3me – Problem
  15. Tenor Youthman – Hard Hustling [Peenie Peenie Mix]
  16. Isha Bel – Nuh Flop Wi Show [Kings Highway Mix]
  17. Tenor Youthman – War & Peace [Peaceful Mix]
  18. Fitzie Niceness – Make A Stand [Kings Highway Mix]
  19. Tenor Youthman – Watch Yuh Back [Stepper Mix]
  20. Fitzie Niceness – Still Want To Be Your Man
  21. Kojo Neatness – Work Harder [Report Mix]

Marshall Neeko first came to our attention in 2006, when he (co-)founded the now defunct VI Connection label and send us a promo cd of his first production work, a bunch of 7″ singles for the “Sane Kry Riddim” featuring cuts from up-and-coming V.I. artists such as Pressure Busspipe, Niyorah, Army, Xkaliba and Danny I. About 8 years later, the skilled French riddim maker, producer and engineer started Idlers Corner Records and until now has put out 17 releases on his new label.

And now there’s number 18 in Idlers Corner Records’ fast growing catalogue, the whopping 21 track compilation set “Idlers Corner Records Volume 1”. The roster of artists here is just an abundance of talent with the highly potent Exco Levi joined by Jamaican veterans like Yami Bolo, Isiah Mentor aka Lilly Melody and Carl Meeks and an international line-up of artists. The latter include Russian singjay Tenor Youthman; King Mas from Boston MA; Kojo Neatness, Ras Xtr3me, Blackout JA and Isha Bel from Kingston JA; Murray Man from the UK; Fitzie Niceness and I-Maa-Ra from New York; and a singjay from Donostia, Basque Country, named George Palmer.

“Idlers Corner Records Volume 1” is a strong label showcase consisting of remixes, unreleased material and exclusive tunes, which can be regarded as a tribute to the dancehall sounds of the 1980s & the mid 1990s. Exco Levi’s “Place Called Earth” from his 2015 released 3 track EP here appears as a remixed version based on the wicked “Cuss Cuss” riddim. The final result outmatches the original version and is one of the killers included on this compilation. Also Isha Bel’s collaboration with Blackout JA, the previously unreleased “Grow Your Locks”, falls into this category. The last year released “Hard Hustling Riddim EP” included George Palmer’s cut “Reggae Vibes” Now it’s given a second life by doing a wicked remix based on the “Peenie Peenie” riddim. All in all a great opening with in particular the first two tracks being the ones that go on repeat!!!

Remarkable but justified is the choice to include 5 tracks from Tenor Youthman, a disciple of the digital counterpart to the Waterhouse style of Michael Rose, Junior Reid and Yami Bolo that was established around 1984 by Tenor Saw and Nitty Gritty, and also utilized by artists such as King Kong, Anthony Red Rose, Bunny General and furthermore Carl Meeks and Murray Man, both also present here. Among the 5 Tenor Youthman tracks are a few big ones including “Truth (Tempo Mix)”, “Hard Hustling (Peenie Peenie Mix)” and “Watch Yuh Back (Steppers Mix)”, originally done on the 2016 released “Chatty Chatty Mouth Riddim” set. This artist really knows how to ride the ’80s digi style riddims to full effect. BOOOOMMM!!! Other noteworthy cuts that deserve the listener’s full attention are Isiah Mentor’s strong “God Alone (Stepper Mix)”, Yami Bolo’s “Stop The Violence”, originally on the “Worries & Trouble Riddim”, and Fitzie Niceness’ “Make A Stand (Kings Highway Mix)” on the “Promised Land” riddim.

<iframe width="100%" height="225" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" allow="autoplay" src=""></iframe>
<iframe src="//" width="100%" height="500px" frameborder="0"></iframe><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->