EarthKry – Survival

by | Jun 30, 2017 | Artist, Reviews

EarthKry - Survival

Release Info

Title: EarthKry – Survival

Label: EarthKry Music | Format: DR | Street date: June 30, 2017 | Website: EarthKry


  1. Survival System
  2. Philosophy
  3. Move On
  4. Wake Up and Live
  5. Live Good
  6. Wild Fire
  7. Liberation Time
  8. Table Turn
  9. New Leaf
  10. Do What You Got To Do
  11. Praise Jah
  12. Keep Dreaming

EarthKry is the name of another much promising reggae band from Jamaica that joins the ranks of self-contained bands for the next generation like C-Sharp, The Uprising Roots, Pentateuch and Grammy nominated Raging Fyah. The musical journey of EarthKry, a four-piece band formed by Kieron Cunningham (drums & background vocals), Kamardo Blake (bass & background vocals), Aldayne Haughton (guitars & lead vocals) and Phillip McFarlane (keyboards & background vocals), started about 6 years ago at Edna Manley College in Kingston, Jamaica. After the release of their “Hard Work EP”, they put a lot of time and effort in the works for their debut album “Survival”. As its title suggests, this 12 track album is about surviving in the different types of system all over the world.

Already after the first listen it’s fully clear that EarthKry, who produced the entire album themselves, exercised quite a bit of quality. That quality control is well set into motion by the very first tune you’ll hear, “Survival System”. Most likely this tune will catch any roots rock reggae fan’s ears immediately via its beautifully full and rich type of sound and its subsequent message. All in all a nearly perfect choice for an opener in terms of setting the tone for the album, definitely. And there’s much more niceness included on this worthwhile album that keeps you involved throughout.

EarthKry’s debut set is just beautiful! Twelve tracks span almost fifty minutes of music and not a single second is wasted, especially when the listener’s eardrums are caressed by tunes such as “Wild Fire”, “Liberation Time”, “Live Good”, the massive roots anthem “Praise Jah” and several others – pretty much the entire album. In particular “Table Turn”, “New Leaf” and the aforementioned “Praise Jah” are instant earworms, which you’ll end up singing along the choruses upon second hearing. “Keep Dreaming”, with a beautiful piano intro and soulful vocals, rounds off in great style.

The tracks were recorded at the famed Tads Recording Studio, Harry J Recording Studio and Irie Yute Recording Studio and expertly mixed by Phillip McFarlane. Some of Jamaica’s most talented musicians such as Hector Lewis (percussion), Sheldon Palmer & Kenroy Banfield (saxophones), Everton Pessoa (trombone), Hopeton Williams (trumpet), Andrea Montalbano, Nnambdi Robinson & Dwayne Livingston (guitars) have lent a hand on an album that surely two of their main influences, Bob Marley & The Wailers and Steel Pulse, would approve of and so would all of their fans.