Various – African Princess Riddim

by Jun 12, 2017Reviews, Various

Various - African Princess Riddim
Irie Ites Logo

Release Info

Title: Various – African Princess Riddim

Label: Irie Ites Records | Format: 4×7″-DR | Street date: June 12, 2017 | Website: Irie Ites Records


  1. Dennis Brown – Mood For Love
  2. Jericho – Dubwize
  3. King Kong – Change
  4. Perfect Giddimani – Pull Up
  5. Lieutenant Stitchie – Free Up
  6. Lilly Melody – Ganja Now
  7. Echo Minott & Skarra Mucci – Wicked & Wild
  8. Dennis Brown & Trinity – African Princess
The ever busy crew of French Irie Ites record label comes up with their 18th riddim selection called “African Princess Riddim”. It’s actually an uptempo 1990s roots riddim Sly & Robbie did for producer Roy Francis of Mixing Lab fame, which Irie Ites first used for Trinity’s 2013 released album “Eye To Eye”, more in particular for the song “African Princess” by Dennis Brown & Trinity, an answer version to Dennis Brown’s “Mood For Love”.

Now the riddim with its big digital bass sound gets the full juggling treatment with various next vocal cuts by veteran artists like Lieutenant Stitchie, Echo Minott, King Kong, Lilly Melody aka Isiah Mentor and also two of today’s most anticipated artists Skarra Mucci and Perfect Giddimani. It’s Dennis Brown’s solo cut “Mood For Love”, in 2016 also reappearing on a 12″ vinyl single issued in the UK on the Jah Fingers imprint, that once again underscores what a great singer the sorely missed Crownprince of Reggae was. Next comes the entertaining “Dubwize” by Jericho, who together with Calvin “So So” Francis & Judi K is credited as mixing engineer for this project.

What then follows are brand new cuts across the riddim of which King Kong’s “Change”, Lilly Melody’s “Ganja Now” and Echo Minott’s “Wicked & Wild” are the best offerings (and thus are the ones that will surely go on repeat), before the already known “African Princess” by Dennis Brown & Trinity brings this selection to an end.