Various – Rebel Selection Vol. 1

by Aug 17, 2017Reviews, Various

Various - Rebel Selection Vol 1
Promise No Promises

Release Info

Title: Various – Rebel Selection Vol. 1

Label: Colpark Music | Format: DR | Street date: August 14, 2017 | Website: N/A


  1. Promise No Promises – Rub A Dub In The Dance
  2. Body B – Life Is No Joke Thing
  3. Hempress Divine feat. Juba & Muscle – A Million Ways
  4. Zambai – In These Times
  5. Amanda Tappin – It Must Be A Crime
  6. Daphne Bluebird – Can’t Fool I
  7. Sadekie Lennox – Music Is Life
  8. Promise No Promises – Be Yourself
  9. Elements – Praising Jah
  10. Sparks feat. Kitty – Feel The Vibes
  11. Rebel Selection Instrumental

It’s always good to see a new record label emerge, especially when it provides a platform for artists who are little known or even fully unknown to reggae fans outside their own local community. Reggae music simply needs such labels. Looking at the line up of artists that grace this juggling project, it are only the names of Promise No Promises and Sadekie Lennox that have appeared on our radar in recent years.

The “Rebel Selection Vol 1” set contains 11 remarkable cuts across the divine “Selfish Riddim” – composed by Hugo “Flow” Wolf of Flow Productions and produced, mixed and mastered by Promises No Promises’ regular collaborator Marc ‘MacLes’ Leys. With a couple of noteworthy singles and last year’s album “In Real Life”, Kobla Mentor aka Promise No Promises from Antigua & Barbuda has proven to be an artist to keep an eye on. Included here are two Promise No Promises cuts of which “Be Yourself” turns out to be the slightly better one. Sadekie Lennox has solidified a decent underground following with songs such as “Call My Cellular”, “Tonight” and a cover of Sam Smith’s “Lay Me Down”. Here he comes up with a nice song called “Music Is Life”, showing that he’s a sweet-voiced singer.

Some striking cuts are delivered by artists who simply deserve to be recognized on a wider scale. This certainly goes for songstress Body B, whose “Life Is No Joke Thing” leaves a good impression. Also “In These Times” by singer, songwriter and musician Zambai is a fully convincing piece, worth hearing more than once. And then there’s the versatile Amanda Tappin, whose powerful and passionate vocals come to full expression on the solid lovers piece “It Must Be A Crime”. The album rounds off with the instrumental version of the “Selfish Riddim”, which is good to have it included.