Various – Freedom Train Riddim

by Oct 16, 2017Reviews, Various

Various & Dreadsquad - Freedom Train Riddim

Release Info

Title: Various & Dreadsquad – Freedom Train Riddim

Label: Superfly Studio | Format: DR | Street date: October 6, 2017 | Website: Dreadsquad


  1. Takeyce-Ti – Freedom Train
  2. Daphne Bluebird – Little Little Lies
  3. Dawid Albaaj – Mary Jane
  4. M-Syla – Police
  5. Puppa Djoul – 45 Style
  6. OCM – Watch Here
  7. Nico Royale – Tear Down The Wall
  8. Neekoshy – The One
  9. Drag Dregae – Si Tu Quieres
  10. Mista Wicked – Stark Wia A Löwe
  11. Dreadsquad – Freedom Train Riddim

Since its start in 2001, Marek Bogdanski’s Dreadsquad project has put Poland on the map for creating dancefloor friendly riddims and bassline madness. From the Superfly Studio in Lodz came riddim after riddim, tune after tune rooted in the Jamaican sounds of Reggae, Dub, Dancehall, Ska and Rocksteady. Dreadsquad has worked with plenty of top Jamaican and European artists including Ward 21, Tenor Fly, Top Cat, General Levy, U Brown, Milion Stylez, Lady Chann, Tippa Irie, Jah Mason, Perfect Giddimani, Dr Ring Ding and many others including talented Polish artists such as songstress Kasia Malenda. Apart from the riddim projects he also recorded full length albums with Dr Ring Ding and Blackout JA. In particular the latter’s “World Destruction” was a major achievement.

Following a vocal contest launched in May 2017, which met great interest and resulted in the participation of many contestants, the ten best voices were chosen to record a tune for Dreadsquad’s brand new juggling project in early reggae style and fashion. A remarkable, but also interesting way to create a riddim album as the listener is introduced to a group of aspiring artists coming from various countries and backgrounds including Canada, Greece, France, Italy, Spain, Germany and Poland.

Eclectic soulful artist Takeyce-Ti, daughter of the legendary Jamaican Queen of Gospel, Claudelle Clarke, and a reputable Pastor in Jamaica, Albert Mais, caresses the listener’s eardrums with her sweet voice on the title track and opener of the well done “Freedom Train Riddim”. With this track and the previously released “It’s Possible! EP”, she shows that she’s definitely an artist to keep an eye on. Also Dawid Albaaj aka David D’light makes a good impression with the ganja tune “Mary Jane”. “Police” by M-Syla, lead vocalist of French group Samskara and percussionist for MLK, is another solid piece, although the French tone in his pronunciation of English lyrics is something he has to work on. Other tracks worth hearing include “Watch Here” by OCM, Neekoshy’s “The One” and, of course, Dreadsquad’s “Freedom Train Riddim”.

<iframe width="100%" height="225" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src=""></iframe>
<center><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><iframe src="//" height="500px" frameborder="0" width="100%"></iframe><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --></center><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->