Various – Slow Rock Riddim

by Nov 19, 2017Reviews, Various

Various - Slow Rock Riddim
Triston Palma

Release Info

Title: Various – Slow Rock Riddim

Label: Rebel Sound Records | Format: DR | Street date: November 10, 2017 | Website: Rebel Sound Records

  1. Sugar Minott – My Love Zone
  2. Eddy Fitzroy – Run Come
  3. Luciano – I Feel The Pain
  4. The Tamlins – Tell Me Who You Gonna Blame
  5. Triston Palma – How Yu Eyes So Red
  6. Chuck Fenda – Who Feel It Knows
  7. George Nooks – You’re My Lady
  8. Nitty Kutchie – You Are The One
  9. Wurdz – Don’t Remind Me
  10. Admiral Tibet – Why Is It A Woman Like You
  11. Carl Dawkins – I Don’t Wanna Be Alone
  12. IQ Michael – Everything Is You
  13. Raphael – Come A Little Closer
It were actually promo copies of Sugar Minott’s “My Love Zone” and Luciano’s “Feel The Pain” that introduced us to the “Slow Rock Riddim”, produced by veteran singer Triston Palma for Live and Direct Inc. These two tracks were very nice to the ears and made us longing for more cuts over the beautiful slow-paced one drop riddim with its appealing saxophone sound.

Now the infectious “Slow Rock Riddim” has reached its official release via Rebel Sound Records in collaboration with Rob Saunders of Live And Direct Inc., and it’s just good to see what Triston Palma has done with it. What he did was to bring in a great selection of artists to voice the lilting backdrop. The inclusion of songs from two late and great singers, Lincoln ‘Sugar’ Minott and Edi Fitzroy, indicates that this juggling project was started before the former’s death in July 2010.

Although the “Slow Rock” is the kind of riddim that simply works perfect for songs of romance, this collection also includes a bunch of noteworthy message tunes such as Edi Fitzroy’s uplifting “Run Come”, Luciano’s moving “I Feel The Pain”, The Tamlins’ downright masterful “Tell Me Who You Gonna Blame”, Chuck Fenda’s blazing “Who Feels It Knows”, Triston Palma’s “How Yu Eyes So Red” and the impressive “Don’t Remind Me”, actually dub poetry with incisive lyrics from the to us unknown Wudz. Of course, more accessible than that offering are the love songs with in particular Admiral Tibet’s “Why Is It A Woman Like You”, Carl Dawkins’ “Don’t Want To Be Alone” and not to forget Sugar Minott’s “My Love Zone” being the ones that really hit.

Sounds – Ads

  • Various – Slow Rock Riddim (Rascal Editz Mix)