Select Page

Speng Bond – Up Deh

by | Dec 27, 2017 | Artist, Reviews

Speng Bond - Up Deh
Speng Bond

Release Info

Title: Speng Bond – Up Deh

Label: Reality Shock | Format: CDDR | Street date: November 21, 2017 | Website: Reality Shock


  1. None A Dem Badder
  2. Outta Road
  3. 001
  4. Turn We Loose feat. Mikey Murka
  5. Smoking Weed feat. Errol Bellot
  6. Wha Do Dem
  7. Know Thyself
  8. Mash Down Rome
  9. Ganjaman
  10. White Horse
  11. Tann Up Solid
  12. Ketch A Fire
  13. Rubadub Souljah
  14. Cut Backs
  15. Know Thyself Dub
  16. Mash Down Rome Dub
  17. None A Dem Badder Dub
  18. 001 Dub

Reality Shock’s Kris Kemist has earned his accolades with his distinctive production style, which can be fully experienced while listening to such albums as Solo Banton’s “Higher Levels” and “Walk Like Rasta”, Errol Bellot’s “Know Jah”, Deadly Hunta’s “Supa Hero”, Mikey Murka’s In The Name Of Love”, and the compilation set “Reality Shock Vol. 1”.


Kris Kemist began his musical career managing Jamaican reggae singer Mikey Murka in the early 2000s. In 2003 he launched Reality Shock Records, originally working with reggae artists Deadly Hunta, Aqua Livi, Smiley, Errol Bellot & Afrikan Simba. His label went on to release a string of records and albums. His reggae influenced productions are described as “heavy enough for the UK dub rigs, yet melodic enough for home listening” in a BBC review of the 2010 released Solo Banton album “Walk Like Rasta”. As well as producing for Reality Shock, Kris Kemist has also recorded vocalists and mixed tracks for several other labels including Mungos Hifi’s/Scotch Bonnet (UK) Jahtari (Germany) and Jahmanican Records (France).


The original secret agent 001, Speng Bond aka James Bond aka Papa Rhynie has been a sound system MC since 1974, working in Birmingham with sounds like Jungleman, Quaker City, Turbotronic, Now Generation and many more. The first songs he recorded were “Duppyman Skank” and “Remedy”, produced by Echo Dee back in 1983 in Birmingham. He was also featured on a track of UB40’s 1985 album “Baggariddim” entitled “Fight Fe Come In”, which he did in combination with General CP. Furthermore he toured with Steel Pulse back in the 1980s. After some years of being relative quiet, Speng Bond returned to Reatity Shock Records in 2011 where he recorded “Cut Backs”, which relaunched his recording career. He went on to record for labels such as Scotch Bonnet Records, Cubiculo, Maffi, and Jahtari amongst others, and toured all over Europe and as far afield as South America, Japan and (in the year 2018) Australia/New Zealand.


After all those years in reggae business, Speng Bond finally has a debut solo album out entitled “Up Deh”. It collects many of his recordings done in recent years alongside some brand new tracks including combinations with UK singers Mikey Murka and Errol Bellot. Besides the production work of Kris Kemist, this album also features tracks produced by Jahtari, Art & Naram/Red Robin, Monkey Marc, Creation Music and Strictly Sound Prodz.

When it comes to the Kris Kemist produced tracks, it are in particular the digital UK steppers tune “None A Dem Badder”, the thrilling “001” (a reggae version of the James Bond’s theme song), the scintillating social commentary “Cut Backs”, the exciting old-skool dancehall vibed “Ketch A Fire”, “Rubadub Souljah” over the “Reggae Recipe” riddim and the collaborations with Mikey Murka and Errol Bellot that demand special attention as they are truly worth repeated listening.

Also the tracks gathered from other producers include a few deadly goods. First tune leaving a very good impression is “(Dread) Outta Road”, released in 2016 on a Red Robin 12″ vinyl single. And then there’s “Ganjaman” across the “Super Mariojuana Riddim”. Portuguese producer Dub Unit created this 2012 riddim based on a tune from Horace Ferguson called “Sensi Addict” and U-Roy’s “Music Addict” and inspired by the sounds of 8 Bit music. Originally released in 2015 on Totally Dubwise Recordings, the great “Know Thyself”, mixed by Jah Fingers and featuring backing vocals by Peter Sunday, is underpinned by a reworked version of Rod Taylor’s “His Imperial Majesty” riddim. It’s followed by the matching “Mash Down Rome”, which comes across another revitalized classic riddim, Prince Alla’s “Stone”.

This sonically well varied album is rounded off by four noteworthy Kris Kemist dub versions.

Clips – Ads



Conclusion All in all an entertaining collection of Speng Bond tunes.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Reggae Vibes Banner

Latest Reviews