Alborosie Meets The Wailers United – Unbreakable

by Jul 14, 2018Artist, Reviews

Alborosie Meets Wailers United - Unbreakable
Alborosie Meets The Wailers United - Unbreakable

Release Info

Alborosie Meets The Wailers United – Unbreakable

Label:  Greensleeves | Format: CD-LP-DR | Street date: June 29, 2018 | Website label


  1. The Unforgiven feat. Raging Fyah
  2. Mystical Reggae feat. Jah Cure
  3. Lie
  4. Live Conscious
  5. Contradiction feat. Chronixx
  6. Mission
  7. Too Rock feat. Beres Hammond
  8. Wailing Dub
  9. Table Has Turned
  10. Youth Like Me
  11. Unbreakable feat. J Boog
  12. One Chord
  13. Under Control
  14. Famsdub (Outro)

Anyone who has followed Alborosie from his early beginnings has learnt that the now international reggae star from Italian descent, whose base of operations is in Jamaica, has always been fascinated and strongly inspired by Jamaican roots rock reggae and dub music from the 1970s. Besides that he also always expressed a strong interest in the analogue equipment and mixing techniques that were used to create the golden sounds of Jamaica’s popular music in those days.

Guest Appearances

All this was evident on almost every album Alborosie has released so far, but it’s his new studio album called “Unbreakable” that couldn’t make it even more clear. For this project he enlisted bass player Aston “Family Man” Barrett, keyboardist Tyrone Downie and guitarist Junior Marvin – three former members of Bob Marley’s famed backing band The Wailers – plus Aston Barrett Jr (drums) for instrumental backing. Besides that he invited respected singers like Raging Fyah’s lead singer Kumar Bent, Jah Cure, veteran Beres Hammond, Chronixx and J Boog as guest vocalists.

The Wailers United

It’s really no surprise that “Unbreakable” is a next Pupa Albo album that resembles roots rock reggae done in the 1970s. However in this case the backing of The Wailers United (named so to avoid confusion with The Wailers band that regularly tours the world) takes it to an even higher level. Musically it makes “Unbreakable” Alborosie’s best album so far and without any doubt also one that’s going to be commercially successful. However lyrically speaking, the Sicily-born artist sometimes isn’t very impressive as he tends to use clichés in his vibes and writings.

Opening Four

The album unexpectedly kicks off with Alborosie’s genre-busting lavish lick-over of 1991 Metallica rock ballad “The Unforgiven”, done in collaboration with Raging Fyah. A nice offering, which even after several listenings is nothing too special. The first of several songs with a real Wailers-vibe is the collaboration with Jah Cure called “Mystical Reggae”, in which Alborosie name checks Dennis Brown,  Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Abyssinians and Burning Spear. A solid tune, which however is outmatched by the two tunes that follow next; the powerful “Lie” and the Marley-esque positive message tune “Live Conscious”. The two final tunes of the opening four are clearly the best of that bunch and, by extension, the better ones on the album.

Better Ones

Talking about the ‘better ones’… the previously released single “Contradiction” featuring Chronixx – a tune Alborosie co-produced with Frenchie of Maximum Sounds – is one of the album’s standouts. The excellent song delivers a message to the people and the youths about everyday life and the social and political climate we are currently living in. It’s instantly clear that “Too Rock”, the collaboration with Beres Hammond, also incorporates that typical Wailers-vibe. It’s a nice head-nodding song that on the lyrical side unfortunately fails to impress. A far better offering is the autobiographical song “Table Has Turned”, which is followed by the matching “Youth Like Me”, which was written in collaboration with Duane Stephenson. Guest vocalist J Boog makes his appearance on the intoxicating title track “Unbreakable”, which is underpinned by a groovy uptempo riddim. The final few tunes, not counting the short instrumental “Famsdub (Outro)”, are the outstanding “One Chord” and the catchy “Under Control”, which has a very nice sound.


Buy @ Amazon Store near you!