Scientist – Dub From The Ghetto

by Jan 23, 2019Artist, Reviews

Scientist - Dub From The Ghetto

Release Info

Scientist – Dub From The Ghetto

Label:  RAS | Format: CD-DR | Street date: February 13, 2006 | Facebook Artist

1 Nuh Brother Fight (Heavenless) 3:37
2 Tribute To The Reggae King Dub 4:04
3 Dub Of The Traveller 3:24
4 Gunshot 3:24
5 Caring For My Sister 5:35
6 Something On My Mind Dub 2:25
7 Dub Of Gladness 3:07
8 Movie Star Dub 3:13
9 Blood Dunza Dub 3:08
10 Separation (12″ Version) 5:31
11 Time Is Cold Dub 3:10
12 Miss Know It 3:21
13 One Way 3:08
14 Problem Dub 3:11
15 Young Lover (Shank I Sheck) 3:25
16 Jah Wrote Me (A Letter From Zion) 5:51
17 Baltimore Dub 4:44
18 Scientist Explosion Dub 3:43
19 Pop No Style 7:01
20 Dub From The Ghetto 2:49

In addition to Stephen Cooper’s part 1 of his interview with Scientist, and while awaiting its 2nd part we feature reviews of a selection of dub albums from a mixing engineer who made the most innovative strides in the development of dub techniques since King Tubby’s initial experiments.

Inventive And Deep

In short, this is an excellent collection of Scientist’s hardest mixes, profiling his dexterity, individuality and eccentricity at the controls. Scientist matched the Radics style so perfectly: Style Scott’s beats were darker, harsher, more austere than the sophisticated, spacious and cerebrally spiritual Rockers patterns, and Scientists’ sparser, more hostile sound matched just perfectly. It is staggering to think some of these mixes were done on Tubby’s four track — they are so inventive and deep.


There are no great surprises here: many of you will have heard these tunes and rhythms many times before, but if you haven’t already got a Scientist compilation, then this is a great place to begin. And it is not only a “beginner’s compilation” by any means, featuring the long sought after Attack 12″ rarity, Barry Brown’s “Separation.” This tune was desperately sought out and sold for very high prices until Trojan re released it in 2005 on their Dancehall compilation. Even if you are not a major Barry Brown fan, this track is extraordinary, replete with its sense of danger. One of THE heaviest discomixes out of Channel One, without much argument.

Superior Version

Also great to have is the superior dub to Horace Andy’s “Something’s On My Mind” — this has been released in many inferior forms, but this is THE superior version, taken from the long deleted “Rocker’s Almighty” dub album on Clocktower. Seriously, do not miss this version, which renders the others forgettable. Also commendable is the inclusion of the awesome heavyweight Linval Thompson tune, “Living As Brother” (here entitled “Caring For My Sister.”). Thompson is not to everyone’s taste since he sounded so similar to Johnny Clarke, but at his best, he was great, with very much his own individuality and vibes — and this tune is rough. Also included here is the version to Tristan Palmer’s “Entertainment Is A Form of Enjoyment”, a tune also versioned by ONU Sound’s Singers and Players.

Studio One

The beautifully titled “Time Is Cold” reworks a classic Studio One rhythm (in the days when this practice wasn’t arguably chronically overdone as it is now in 2006) and it will match perfectly The Spear cuts like “He Prayed” and the Righteous Flames version “Solid Foundation”, for all of you who like to mix version. Also present is the excellent “Baltimore” and this is a perfect companion to have alongside the Paul Groucho Smykle version from the much under rated and barely name-checked Sly & Robbie’s “Dub Experience” album.

Johnny Clarke

The album closes with a malicious, resentful, pugnacious and cantankerous cut to Johnny Clarke’s Grounation 45, “Cold I Up.” This track alone leaves the vast majority of current 2006 dubwise at the starting block. What a perfect way to end this fine album. On a final point, John Masouri’s sleeve notes are enjoyably well written and informative too.

Buy @ Amazon