Various – New Age Roots II – The Next Chapter

by Jan 6, 2019Reviews, Various

Various - New Age Roots II - The Next Chapter

Release Info

Various – New Age Roots II – The Next Chapter

Label: Greenbeat Music | Format: CD-DR | Street date: December 29, 2018 | Website Label


  1. Walta Saw – Virtuous Woman
  2. Temaree – Never Leave Me
  3. Keke Flint – I Know
  4. Madi Simmons – A New Day
  5. Jennifer Barrett – What A Tribulation
  6. Prince Alla – Deliver My Soul
  7. Iyashanti – If It Wasn’t Jah
  8. Kenrick Beckett – Jah Blessings
  9. Doniki – Keep On Wondering
  10. Iyashanti – Giving Thanks
  11. Jennifer Barrett – Jah Judgement
  12. Prince Alla – I Thought
  13. The Jays – Moving On
  14. Doniki – Where Are They
  15. The Royal Prophets feat. Ras Ronald – It’s Me Mama (Dub Mix)

New Age Roots

November 2003 saw the CD/LP release of a compilation titled “Greenbeat Music Presents: New Age Roots – The Movement, which in March 2013 was also released as (remastered) digital download. Robert ‘Higherman’ Heilman’s review of that album ended with the conclusion that “Organic Roots Reggae is the order of the current times but “New Age Roots” retains the central Root and is worth a listen or three. It’s a display of talent both young and old and really shows the depth of Mackadub’s musical dimension. Even if you’re a Roots purist, you need to check “New Age Roots” and hear songs that are fresh and tangible.” After a very long wait there’s finally the follow up to that album, the aptly titled “New Age Roots II – The Next Chapter”.


The driving force behind these projects is Barry Stewart aka Mackadub, an outstanding multi-talented musician (mastery of most instruments) and producer who has been a mainstay in the UK Roots scene for over thirty years now. He played a massive part in Macka B’s breakthrough album “Sign Of The Times” and has lent his mastery to the likes of Dr. “Ital Surgeon” Alimantado, Aisha and The Twinkle Brothers, to name a few. He is heavily involved in the community and loves to give rising talent a platform to develop on. Greenbeat Music is a Roots label that has been a London fixture for many years. Besides putting out quality releases and Dubplates, their crew has helped to put on some historical shows featuring Mighty Diamonds, Aswad, Third World, Iration Steppas and the Twinkle Brothers.

Eye-catching Name

This new varied collection of tunes by various artists from across the globe are all produced, recorded, and mixed by Mackadub in collaboration with Daddy Mix who coordinated the voices on this project from his Studio Mix location in Waterhouse, Kingston JA. The album offers the listener 15 tracks of conscious uplifting roots reggae music designed to heal, refresh and format the hearts and minds, delivered by known as well as rather unknown artists. One of the most eye-catching names on the tracklist has to be the late Doniki, the great but one of Jamaica’s most underrated singers who passed on to Zion in 2016. His two songs, “Keep On Wondering” and “Where Are They”, are excellent contributions and highlights of this set.


Another often overlooked artist worth listening to is Iyashanti, who in particular impresses with his huge praising song “Giving Thanks”. Both, Prince Alla and harmony group The Jays, need no introduction due to their successful run in the 1970s. They are responsible for three solid efforts of which Prince Alla’s “Deliver My Soul” and The Jays’ “Moving On” are the most appealing tunes. Former back up vocalist for the Wailers, Jennifer Barrett, showcases her vocal prowess on “What A Tribulation” and the great “Jah Judgement”. Other tracks that also bring fulljoyment to the eardrums of the listener are Walta Saw’s “Virtuous Woman”, Keke Flint’s “I Know”, and the album closer “It’s Me Mama (Dub Mix)” by The Royal Prophets feat. Ras Ronald.


Buy @ Amazon