Carl Meeks – The Revolutionary Journey

by Feb 7, 2019Artist, Reviews

Carl Meeks - The Revolutionary Journey
Carl Meeks

Release Info

Carl Meeks – The Revolutionary Journey

Label:  Rub A Dub Mrkt | Format: DR | Street date: January 14, 2019 | Bandcamp label


  1. You Are
  2. Fire
  3. Ram Dance Master feat. Johnny P
  4. Stop The Violence
  5. Pedalo Swing
  6. God Bless Pickney feat. Mikey General
  7. Missing Ya
  8. Rising Up
  9. Hill And Gully Ride feat. Supa Dane & Rohan Da Great
  10. Jah Give It Back
  11. Missing Dub (Sax Version)
  12. Dub The Violence
  13. Rising Dub


In France there seems to be a bit of a ‘renaissance’ of ’80s digital dancehall reggae going on, initiated by recent noteworthy releases from producers like Manu Digital, Marshall Neeko and Kiko. The latter, ex member of No More Babylon and third man of Flash Hit Records, is the driving force behind Carl Meeks’ brand new album called “The Revolutionary Journey”, which he has put out on his own record label Rub A Dub Mrkt.

Carl Meeks

From when he was a schoolboy, Carl Meeks knew he wanted to persue a career in the recording industry. After winning second place in a talent show in Kingston called Taste, it gave him the inspiration to concentrate on his singing career even more. It then was the late George Lemon (a photographer), wo heard him singing and started to invest in his career. After the release of a series of singles on the Photographer label, Carl Meeks’ album “Jackmandora” was put out by Greensleeves in 1988. However, a couple of weeks before the release of “Jackmandora” the Hugh “Red Man” James produced album “Weh Dem Fah” was released on the producers imprint Redman International. About ten years later a third album called “Righteousness” was released on Ellis Records. Carl Meeks has worked with a lot of producers such as Jammy’s, Jack Scorpio, Steely & Clevie, Gussie Clarke and Harry J to name a few.

No Fillers

The music video and 7″ vinyl of Carl Meeks’ brand new tune “Fire” preceded the album release and turned out to be a digi killer. It obviously led to a heavy amount of expectations towards the long awaited full length album from the cultural reggae dancehall singer, known for voicing his tunes in the so-called ‘singjay’ style with a distinctive falsetto and a unique slur. Now, the album fully lives up to expectations – musically, vocally and lyrically. No fillers to be found here, only winners around of which a few even can be called killers. The latter, of course, includes the aforementioned single “Fire”. But also the praising song “You Are”, and the two collaboration tracks “Ram Dance Master”, a soundbwoy tune done with Johnny P, and “God Bless Pickney” with Mikey General, fall into this category. A personal favourite is the lovers piece “Missing Ya” together with its accompanying dub version.


Buy @ Amazon