Reggae Gold 2019

by Sep 18, 2019Reviews, Various

Reggae Gold 2019
Reggae Gold 2019

Release Info

Reggae Gold 2019

Label:  VP Records | Format: CD-DR | Street date: July 26, 2019 | Website Label

  1. Touch Down Remix (feat. Nicki Minaj & Vybz Kartel) – Stylo G
  2. Life – Christopher Martin
  3. One Way – Busy Signal
  4. Government – Chronic Law
  5. Hurtin’ Me (feat. French Montana) – Stefflon Don
  6. Never Die – Squash
  7. Juju – Dovey Magnum
  8. Paradise Plum – Naomi Cowan
  9. Lights Out – Estelle
  10. Made To Fall In Love – Bitty McLean
  11. Marijuana (feat. Damian ‘Jr. Gong’ Marley) – Jah Cure
  12. Banks Of Hope Remix (feat. Popcaan) – Agent Sasco
  13. Keep The Same Energy – Noah Powa
  14. Owna Lane – Teejay
  15. Land Of Sunshine – Beres Hammond
  16. To See – Queen Ifrica
  17. Heaven (Ready Fi Di Feeling) – Jah9
  18. Guess Who? (feat. Mykal Rose) – Tarrus Riley
  19. The Unforgiven (feat. Raging Fyah) – Alborosie
Reggae Gold 2019

Every summer, the world’s #1 Caribbean music compilation Reggae Gold brings the genre’s top hits into one must-have collection for the masses. This year’s installment is a diverse set of reggae chart toppers and the freshest dancehall sounds of the season.


The album kicks off inna hot remix style with the huge cross-over hit Touch Down Remix from British/Jamaican rapper Stylo G who enlisted Vybz Kartel en Nicki Minaj for this tune. Then comes Christopher Martin with the strong tune Life, an uptempo autobiographical song, followed by One Life a boom tune from his friend Busy Signal across the same backdrop, the Global Warming riddim from White Gad Records. The new generation deejay/rapper Akeeme Campbell, better known as Chronic Law, is present here with a Reggae Gold 2019 exclusive called Government produced by Cashflow Rinse & Kev Star. UK based Stefflon Don, whose vocals were recently featured on XXXTentacion’s posthumous track Royalty, released the infectious single Hurtin’ Me with rapper French Montana from her debut EP titled Hurtin’ Me – The EP in 2017. MoBay native and fast-rising dancehall artist Squash brings Never Die, another splendid Reggae Gold 2019 exclusive. The next song is also a Reggae Gold 2019 exclusive. It’s Juju a tune by Dovey Magnum, who has been creating waves with her hit single Bawl Out.


After this bunch of dancehall/r’n’b tunes we switch to reggae with Naomi Cowan’s Paradise Plum. Naomi, daughter of singer Carlene Davis and reggae legend Tommy Cowan, delivers a groovy rub-a-dub styled song, across one of reggae’s enduring riddims, Queen of The Minstrels. Then there’s Estelle with strong lovers vibes as she performs the sultry reggae track Lights Out from her 2018 album Lovers Rock. UK reggae icon Bitty McLean, in combination with riddim twins Sly & Robbie, continue the lovers mood with Made To Fall In Love from the Love Restart album. The ganja anthem Marijuana from Jah Cure and Damian ‘Jr. Gong’ Marley needs no further introduction…Rewind selector! Same goes for the remix of Banks Of The Hope, the popular link up from Popcaan and Agent Sasco.


It’s time for dancehall again. First comes the reality tune Keep The Same Energy by Noah Powa, known for his humorous impersonation of Bounty Killer, and Teejay from MoBay follows with Owna Lane. The upcoming deejay spits out tough reality lyrics across a solid dancehall riddim. Boomshot effort! The last section of the album are 4 noteworthy reggae tunes, starting off with reggae veteran Beres Hammond. His single Land of Sunshine comes from the excellent 2018 Never Ending album. The riddim comes from the Studio One song by Ernest Wilson Why Oh Why. At the beginning of 2019 Chimney Records unleashed the rub-a-dub riddim St. Andrew, featuring artists like Morgan Heritage, Alaine, Jemere Morgan and also this tune –I See– by Queen Ifrica. Powerful empress Jah9’s contribution is the well known song Heaven (Ready Fi Di Feeling). Tarrus Riley meets Mykal Rose for a gorgeous revisit of Black Uhuru’s Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner. Italian/Jamaican reggae superstar closes this collection with the genre-busting lavish lick-over of 1991 Metallica rock ballad The Unforgiven, done in collaboration with Raging Fyah. A nice offering!

Buy @ Amazon