Various & Radikal Vibration – Abaddown

by Nov 20, 2019Reviews, Various

Various/Radikal Vibration - Abaddown
Backsleeve Abaddown LP

Release Info

Various & Radikal Vibration – Abaddown

Label:  Evidence Music | Format: LP-DR | Street date: November 8, 2019 | Website label | Facebook Radikal Vibration


Vinyl LP

Side A

  1. Brother Culture – My Selecta
  2. King Kong – The Earth
  3. Wayne Smith – The Sound (Remix)
  4. Infinite – Salvation
  5. Exile Di Brave – Blaze
  6. Mark Wonder – Mama Africa

Side B

  1. Micah Shemaiah – Deal With It So
  2. Virtus – Freedom
  3. Abaddown
  4. Play With Fire
  5. Dubquest
  6. Landmine

Digital Release

  1. Brother Culture – My Selecta
  2. King Kong – The Earth
  3. Wayne Smith – The Sound (Remix)
  4. Infinite – Salvation
  5. Exile Di Brave – Blaze
  6. Mark Wonder – Mama Africa
  7. Micah Shemaiah – Deal With It So
  8. Virtus – Freedom
  9. Teacha Dee – Jah Say
  10. Smoke – Lion Roar
  11. Denham Smith – Run Or Dance
  12. Abaddown
  13. Play With Fire
  14. Dubquest
  15. Landmine

After last year’s successful collaboration for Brother Culture’s hit song, the infectious UK stepper “Jump Up Pon It”, Geneva-based reggae label Evidence Music and the dub makers of Radikal Vibration have again joined forces for a brand new project, the full-length compilation album “Abaddown”.

Radikal Vibration

In 2015, the Radikal Vibration collective was formed by members of Geneva’s High Skank and Youth Solidarity crews. Consisting of Flegus, Sabu, Sonjah and Robert Safety, these four dub makers with each one having his own home studio to built riddims, share the same goal: producing as much music as possible and play these productions on their own custom built sound system. So far they have released quite a few electro-dub productions coming out of their Radikal cookstoves on their own bandcamp page, but – as mentioned – attracting notable attention worldwide with the backdrop of Brother Culture’s “Jump Up Pon It”.

Heavy Dub Selection

While Radikal Vibration offers a solid, heavy dub selection for the base of this “Abaddown” album, Evidendence Music is the driving force behind bringing in veterans as well as upcoming artists to voice the various riddims in order to offer a variety of styles. As one might expect, Radikal Vibration’s musical backdrops contain many modern electronic influences and also the UK Steppers style isn’t far away on most of the tracks.

Opening Sequence

Brother Culture opens with the previously released single “My Selecta”, an irresistible, danceable piece about roots dances and sound system culture and, after “Jump Up Pon It”, another winner for the UK roots veteran and the Radikal Vibration crew. Next comes “The Earth” by the legendary King Kong, who revisits his 2006 roots scorcher “Earth Is The Lord” (Massive B) in great style – one of the album’s highlights. Before his untimely death in 2014, Jamaican reggae and dancehall singer Wayne Smith of “Under Mi Sleng Teng” fame collaborated with Evidence Music on several occasions, so his appearance on this album isn’t a real surprise. Any time you can get a song from this artist, you know you have something potentially special. And indeed, his tune about sound system business is awesome!!!

Three Veterans

After being treated to a great opening sequence of this album by these three veterans, the quality doesn’t dip at all. Of course, not each and every track that follows easily matches the strength and height of the three tracks that open “Abaddown”, but the majority comes pretty close. Amongst them are a couple of mighty tunes that simply trigger the listener to play them more than once. These include Mark Wonder’s wonderful cultural piece “Mama Africa”, Micah Shemaiah’s “Deal With It” (underpinned by the relicked riddim of Mikey Dread’s “Roots and Culture”), Teacha Dee’s “Jah Say”, and Denham Smith’s “Run Or Dance”. The latter portion of the album features four scintillating electro-dub outings, which will surely be fulljoyed by the avid roots sound system fan.

Buy @ Amazon