Various – Ruff Cutt In Roots Chapter 2

by Aug 8, 2020Reviews, Various

Various - Ruff Cutt In Roots Chapter 2

Release Info

Various – Ruff Cutt In Roots Chapter 2

Label:  Ruff Cutt Music | Format: DR | Street date: June 14, 2020 | Bandcamp

  1. Alpha Rowen – I See Them
  2. Selah Collins – Weeping And Wailing
  3. Paul Elliott – More Love
  4. Barbara Nap – Remember
  5. Blazin Soulz – Never Give It Up
  6. Vivian Jones feat. Levi Jah – Highest Grade
  7. Beres Hammond – Say Thank You
  8. Kalumba – So Dem Stay
  9. Freddie Mcgreggor – Give Jah The Glory
  10. Al Campbell – Can’t Fool The Youths
Ruff Cutt

Since their entrance in music business London-based Ruff Cutt has had several number one hits and is behind many of the UK hits recorded in the UK by many of the top producers. Furthermore they have recorded some of the finest reggae artists, from both Jamaica and the UK, in their own Ruff Cutt Studio, providing the recordings with their typical Ruff Cutt sound. Throughout the years they have built themselves a reputation through their impeccable quality production of sound and artistry. Whether it is dancehall/ragga, lovers rock or roots, Ruff Cutt has proven to be equally at home with all genres of Reggae music.

Roots Side

This digital-only album with tracks from their vast catalogue focuses on the roots side of the Ruff Cutt production work and is further proof of the high quality level they have reached and have managed to maintain. Established reggae stars such as Freddie McGregor, Al Campbell, Vivian Jones and Beres Hammond are joined by lesser know artists like Blazing Soulz, Selah Collins and Kalumba.


Alpha Rowen, formerly known as Rolex, made his recording debut in 1993. This fine Jamaican singer, whose timbre sometimes brings back memories of the sorely missed Garnet Silk, excels in roots tunes as is shown on the opening track “I See Them” from 2010, which was included on his album “Born Free”. London-based revered artist Selah Collins delivers his conscious lyrics for “Weeping And Wailing” across a fantastic riddim that sounds very familiar to the ears. Next are two noteworthy cuts across the “Maroons Riddim” an appealing full sounding riddim with massive horns. First there’s the Kenton ‘Fish’ Brown produced and Carlton ‘Bubblers’ Ogilvie mixed powerful sung “More Love” by Paul Elliott from 2008, which is followed by the matching “Remember” by one of the top artists in the UK and Europe for roots reggae music, Barbara Naps. The first half of the compilation ends with Blazing Soulz’s “Never Give It Up” across a powerful, thumping stepper laid by Paul “Jazzwad” Yebuah and Tony Philips, featuring the horns of Dean Fraser and the Matic Horns.

Beautiful Reminder

The ganja anthem “Highest Grade”, released on 7″ single in 2001, sees fine vocalist Vivian Jones collaborating with Levi Jah aka Prince Livijah on a piece that matches the best tracks of this album. Beres Hammond’s 2001 hit single “Say Thank You” across the “Jah Live On” riddim, which is laced with Dean Fraser’s insistent jazzy saxophone, is a beautiful reminder to be grateful for life and how to express it. “So Dem Stay” by, to us rather unknown, Kalumba is a decent effort and nice to listen to. Freddie McGregor’s storming “Give Jah The Glory”, definitely one of his best roots tunes, is underpinned by the same riddim used for Blazing Soulz’s “Never Give It Up”. The compilation then ends with another cut across the mighty “Maroons Riddim”, the message tune “Can’t Fool The Youth” by Al Campbell, which was put out on 7″ single in 2007.

More Ruff Cutt Music