Soom T – The Arch

by Sep 14, 2020Artist, Reviews

Soom T - The Arch
Soom T

Release Info

Soom T – The Arch

Label:  X-Ray Production | Format: CD-LP-DR | Street date: September 11, 2020 | Website artist | Facebook artist

  1. Original That’s Me
  2. Salute To The Boss
  3. Sold Out To The Devil
  4. I Saw A Sign
  5. Love The People
  6. Likkle England
  7. What Do I Do
  8. Master Of Your House
  9. Son Finger
  10. Vampire Of The Empire
  11. World Be Better
  12. Far From Home
Music Activism

Soom T, a Scottish singer of Indian origin, grew up in a poor district of Glasgow. For her, music was an escape from the daily tribulations she faced and her brother helped her to discover and develop the taste for music activism by introducing her to the music of Rage Against The Machine, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill. After having campaigned alongside Y Network, a political group of young representatives from Glasgow neighborhoods aiming to change their city, Soom T decided to devote herself to music to denounce injustices and tell her daily struggles through militant and impactful lyrics.


She first joined a hip-hop group, released a couple of bhangra songs (Indian popular music) and then discovered sound systems and reggae culture thanks to different crews and producers including Bus in Germany, Alex Paterson of cult electronic music group The Orb in the UK and later on Glasgow-based sound system Mungo’s Hi-Fi. Although rap remains her favorite mode of expression, Soom T lets herself be seduced by the reggae-dub scene in which she feels free and comfortable. Her first performances in France were done alongside DJ Kunta with whom she shares, over the years, a common vision about music. Soom T managed to become an essential artist in the underground reggae scene, notably thanks to her incisive and inimitable flow over the riddims that are offered to her.

New Album

After fifteen years of activity, almost a hundred titles to her credit, and generating a cult following, Soom T finally released her first solo album “Free As A Bird” in 2015 on Wagram Music which shows the full extent of her talent and her musical spectrum. Her debut album was followed by “Ode To A Karrot” (Khanti Records) in 2016 and “Born Again” in 2018 (Strong Foundation). And now, Soom T’s brand new album “The Arch” is finally available after its initial release was postponed due to the COVID-19 virus.

Committed Lyrics

For the recording of this album, Soom T naturally turned to her friend DJ Kunta who produced the songs. Composed and recorded with the Lyon-based band Highly Seen, this new album entitled “The Arch” catches the essence of the singer’s music. The musicians, mostly multi-instrumentalists, use modern, but also vintage techniques, giving their riddims authentic flavors. Soom T, as usual, manages to deliver sincere and highly committed lyrics with incredible ease. However vocally it’s something else, because you either like or dislike to listen to the strangely voiced singer.

Raggamuffin Princess

On this 12-track album, ‘the raggamuffin princess’ shows that she’s at ease with a variety of musical styles as “The Arch” blends hip-hop, bhangra, rock, sound system, dub and reggae influences. Furthermore the album is also the reflection of her Christian philosophy, as its title and artwork suggests, based on an extensive study of the gospels that have influenced all the songs.


Included on this album are, of course, the three singles that were already released earlier this year; “Original That’s Me”, “Far From Home” and “Sold Out To The Devil”. In particular the latter, a quest for truth that questions the excesses of our globalized consumer societies, will greatly appeal to reggae fans as this one is pure reggae music. Actually the same goes for the next track, “I Saw A Sign”, an absolutely stellar reggae tune that goes on replay. After the gorgeous “What Do I Do”, more pure reggae niceness drops in with the delightful “Master Of Your House”, which is a real joy to listen to. Fans of the raggamuffin style will be in for a treat with such tracks as “Likkle England”, “Salute To The Boss” and “Love The People”, in which she utilizes her distinctive ultra-fast flow.

Buy @ Amazon


More Soom T  Music