Sean Paul – Live N Livin

by Mar 17, 2021Artist, Reviews

Sean Paul - Live N Livin
Sean Paul

Release Info

Sean Paul – Live N Livin

Label:  Dutty Rock Productions | Format: DR | Street date: March 12, 2021 | Website artist | Facebook artist

  1. Buss a Bubble (Remix) feat. Chi Ching Ching, Looga Man, Ras Ajai & Sotto Bless
  2. Boom feat. Busy Signal
  3. Space Ship feat. Suku Ward 21
  4. Real Steel feat. Intence
  5. The Plug feat. Chi Ching Ching
  6. Dem Nuh Ready Yet by Leftside feat. Sean Paul
  7. Crazy feat. Buju Banton
  8. Schedule feat. Chi Ching Ching & Damian ‘Jr Gong’ Marley
  9. Money Bag feat. Govana
  10. Protect Me feat. Serani
  11. Lion Heart
  12. Guns Of Navarone (Remix) feat. Jesse Royal, Mutabaruka & Stonebwoy
  13. Danger Zone feat. Bugle & Sotto Bless
  14. Life We Living feat. Squash
  15. I’m sanctify (Remix) feat. Agent Sasco & Mavado
  16. Everest feat. Masicka & Skillibeng
Jeremy Harding

We still remember receiving a message from Jeremy Harding, in the second half of the ’90s Sean Paul’s manager, in which he asked if we could give one of the artist’s earliest singles (Black Bottle) repeated listenings because he was a huge talent with such a unique flow that he undoubtedly was going to become a big name in the music business. And indeed, after scoring hits such as Infiltrate, Check It Deeply, Mek It Go So Den, Strategy, Deport Them, Gimme The Light, Get Busy, and Hot Gyal Today alongside Mr. Vegas, Sean Paul’s popularity grew at a ridiculously fast rate and he became an international household name in music.

Collaborative Project

Early 2014, Sean Paul dropped his sixth studio album Full Frequency, his final album for US major record label Atlantic Records. And now, the multi-award-winning Jamaican dancehall star is back with a brand new album, which happens to be a strong collaborative project as all tracks but one feature a guest artist. It’s actually the first of two albums that were in the can for release in 2021 – Scorcher (Island Records) being the other one due for release in May.


On Live N Livin Sean Paul, in collaboration with no less than twenty-one guests (most of them belonging to the new generation of dancehall artists), offers the listener a variety of styles and genres with especially Afro-dancehall being the dominant factor throughout. Some of the tracks are brand new offerings, while others are remixed versions of songs or have been previously released. The singjay’s instantly recognizable vocal style and flow are present in all tracks. Furthermore, they show a level of skill in Sean Paul which he has rarely been given credit for. And then, of course, there are the guest appearances that mostly add even greater fun and appeal to the songs.

First Quarter

The first track, an entertaining remix of 2019 released upbeat dancefloor filler Buss A Bubble across the Firestick Riddim, features appearances of Chi Ching Ching, Looga Man, Ras Ajai & Sotto Bless. This vibrant party tune instantly makes you want to move your dancing feet. And so does the extremely infectious Boom. It’s Jamaican dancehall star Busy Signal who shows that his style perfectly blends with Sean Paul’s vocal delivery. The totally different vibed Space Ship, which is produced by Money Matters, features wailing sirens, record scratching, and the distinctive deep voice of Ward 21’s Suku. The One Time produced Trap-influenced dancehall piece Real Steel, featuring Intence, rounds off the album’s first quarter decently.


When it comes to the remaining twelve tracks, do check The Plug, produced by Chimney Records, with Chi Chi Ching boasting across an enthralling synth backdrop, which is fi sure a contender for our favorite track on the album. Since leaving prison at the end of 2018, Buju Banton has embarked on an impressive comeback. With his contribution to Crazy, a tune with a nod to the old skool dancehall style, it becomes clear once again that he is a rare talent. The superb funky groovin’ Schedule with vocal support from Chi Chi Ching and Damian ‘Jr Gong’ Marley, leaves a very good impression. Next drop four of the album’s highlights. First, there’s the stellar Money Bag, which is followed by the matching Protect Me. Although dancehall is not known for its use of conscious lyrics, Sean Paul’s only solo song Lion Heart – with an autobiographical touch – is a pleasant exception. Noticeable, but without question effective in relation to the lyrics, is the change of tempo in the song. Nice shot!

Killer Conscious Piece

Guns Of Navarone (Remix) is in the same vein, involving the talents of dub poet Mutabaruka, the Ghanaian superstar Stonebwoy, and roots singer Jesse Royal. This combination delivers nothing less than a killer conscious piece! Jamaican Sotto Bless, an up-and-coming artist from Sean Paul’s Dutty Rock camp, and seasoned artist Bugle join Sean Paul on Danger Zone. The piercing and hypnotic beat of the hip-hop-esque tune is a pounding dancefloor filler. Except for the remix of I’m Sanctify from 2018, the last three tracks of the album don’t include much to rave about.


Buy @ Apple Music


More Sean Paul  Music