Dub Pistols – Frontline

by Mar 16, 2023Artist, Reviews

Dub Pistols - Frontline

Release Info

Cyclone Records
CD / LP / DR
Street date
March 10, 2023
Website Artist


1. Nice Up feat. Freestylers & Horseman
2. Nah Give It Up feat. Horseman
3. Moving On feat. Natty Campbell
4. That’s No Lie feat. King Yoof & Demolition Man
5. Soundboy Killa feat. Natty Campbell
6. Better Has Come feat. Lindy Layton
7. Spitfire feat. Cheshire Cat
8. Frontline feat. The Freestylers & Cheshire Cat
9. Jump On It feat. The Freestylers & Top Cat
10. M16 feat. Ragga Twins
11. If You Ever Get A Draw feat. Myki Tuff
12. Love feat. Seanie T & Chezidek

Founded in 1996, UK band Dub Pistols are in the music business for over 25 years. Over the years, the currently seven-members band have released several singles and albums. Now, in the 3rd month of 2023, they present a brand new 12-track album out. Titled Frontline, the multi-cultural collective’s 9th album follows up 2020 released Addict.

Dub Pistols

For those who have never heard of Dub Pistols, here’s a brief introduction. It never was Barry Ashworth’s intention to start a band as he initially began to make singles purely for DJs. The first singles, There’s Gonna Be A Riot and Cyclone, were released in 1998 and led to their first album, Point Blank, which then led to touring. Besides releasing their own albums, Dub Pistols have contributed to numerous film soundtracks including Blade II, Bad Company, Piranha 3D, and Mystery Men. Furthermore, they have also released a significant number of remixed tracks from other artists and various songs of the band have been featured in video games. Today, Dub Pistols are one of the few remaining working class bands in the UK who carry the flame of reggae-driven sound system music.


Dub Pistols’ Frontline album offers exactly what one can expect from this band: an irresistible mix of musical genres strongly rooted in reggae. And thus the listener is treated to a superb blend of dub, reggae, dancehall, ska, and drum & bass sounds. On this album, they are joined by a appealing group of featured artists including Horseman, Top Cat, The Freestylers, Myki Tuff, and Chezidek alongside long-term Posse members The Ragga Twins, Lindy Layton, Natty Campbell, King Yoof, and Cheshire Cat, and regular Dub Pistol frontman Seanie T. Together with the variety of sounds that leap off your speakers, it keeps this album interesting to listen to from beginning to end.

Riddim Spotters

Tracks that will instantly attract riddim spotter’s attention are those that feature versions of classic backdrops. The first one is Alton Ellis’ Breaking Up Is Hard To Do which is relicked for Horseman’s nice tribute to Sugar Minott on Nah Give It Up. The next recognisable classic riddim, Big Willie’s College Rock, is heard in King Yoof & Demolition Man’s infectious drum & bass piece That’s No Lie. Another wicked drum & bass piece, Ragga Twins’ M16, is built on Shinehead’s acclaimed version of Michael Jackson’s Billie Jean riddim. Apart from these three examples, there are a few others that are left to riddim spotters to identify the original riddims. Together with the aforementioned tunes, some other tracks immediately caught attention. The most glaring are Soundboy Killa by Natty Campbell, Cheshire Cat’s Spitfire and Love by Seanie T & Chezidek.

Playlist Album


Where to get it

Buy @ Apple Music

More Dub Pistols Music

Buy @ Apple Music