Jahmali – Pleasant Place

by Mar 24, 2023Artist, Reviews

Jahmali - Pleasant Place

Release Info

Roaring Ras Productions
Street date
March 24, 2023
Facebook Artist


01. Set Free Yuh Medi
02. House Of My Sojourn
03. Made For A Woman
04. Empowering
05. El Shaddai (Jam)
06. Her Pleasant Place
07. Dancehall Avenger
08. On Repeat
09. When Will It Cease
10. Armageddon
11. Chapter 11 (Ashes N Dust)
12. Eye-thiopians
13. Superficial Warriors
14. Retribution
15. El Shaddai (Acoustic)
16. If
17. Sekkle Down

Twenty-five years after the release of his Donovan Germain-produced debut album El Shaddai, sweet-voiced Jamaican singer Jahmali delivers his fourth full-length album entitled Pleasant Place, the follow up to the 2014 released Reggaeland set We I open.


Born Ryan Thomas, Jahmali relocated from Clarendon to Kingston to attend community college and went on to teach before he began his singing career. In his early recording years he was known as singer Ryan T, a stage name close to a reggae star from the same parish Cocoa Tea who was one of his main influences. After some years he decided to change his name to Jahmali (mali means “free”) and from this time on he started to establish his name. He recorded for Prince (later King) Jammy and Xterminator’s “Fatis” Burrell) before achieving success with I Am On A Mission and Wake Up for Donovan Germain’s Penthouse label, Victory on the Wine Of Violence riddim for Barry O’Hare’s X-Rated label and Lightning Brimstone And Fire for Bobby Digital’s Digital B label (also released on Brick Wall). He continued with a series of singles including “Must Win” (John John, 1994), Rock My Soul (Fashion, 1996), Left Nor Right (Black Scorpio, 1998) and many more. A duet with Buju Banton called Mother’s Cry was featured on the latter’s Grammy-nominated album Inna Heights in 1997.

Albums & Singles

His first album, El Shaddai (Penthouse, 1998), gathered top singles like 21st Century, Cry People and Real Issues with message tunes like Dry Bones, Politics, and the uncompromising title track. It was followed by Treasure Box (Brickwall, 2000) produced by Bobby Digital featuring songs like Never Let A Good Thing Go, Be Not Afraid, and Expect A Fight. He also shared a combination album with Yami Bolo called Forces Of Nature Volume Two (Brickwall, 2002). He toured extensively and continued to record 7″ singles including Onward for Barry O’Hare’s X-Rated Records, Let Love This Time (Gargamel, 2000), Ghetto Youth (Kickin, 2001), Poor Man’s Strength (Fireball), Face The Challenge (Psalms, 2002), Give Thanks And Praises (Cali Bud), Only Love for Mikey Spice’s Ingredience label and many others. In 2014 Jahmali returned with a full-length album called We I Open on the Reggaeland label.

Pleasant Place

In the past four years or so, fans of one of the finest Jamaican vocalists have been provided glimpses of Jahmali’s long-awaited Pleasant Place album by means of four previously released singles. These included Made For A Woman, On Repeat, Her Pleasant Place, and Dancehall Avenger. And now, there’s finally the complete album out available featuring 17 tracks which fully showcase the veteran’s vocal skill and abilities. On several tracks he vocally sounds much like the late Garnet Silk, something that also could be experienced when listening to previous Jahmali works. Unlike his first three albums, Pleasant Place contains a variety of sounds which not only give this collection a strong modern feel but also clearly express an intention to reach a broader audience. From the first tone this album brings well-crafted songs, a crisp clear sound, and excellent musicianship. It’s the serene and light Set Free Yuh Medi that gets the musical journey started. Listeners are treated to songs that instantly make a serious impression but also includes efforts that take more time to get more appreciation (think One Repeat). Perhaps it’s because they’re in essence not pure reggae tunes that one needs to play these tunes several times to really catch the vibes. After having repeatedly listened to Pleasant Place, the following songs make up the real class of the album in a big way. House Of My Sojour is a moving tune that mirrors the pitfalls and triumphs of one’s destiny, while Dancehall Avenger – an old skool vibed tune across a relick of the Real Rock riddim – fires on all cylinders. And then there’s also the downright sublime message tune When Will It Cease, the horns-laden Retribution, Superficial Warriors and the gorgeous If. Last but not least, Jahmali revisits his scorcher El Shaddai, one of reggae music’s greatest songs. Here he offers the listeners two versions of that song. They certainly aren’t bad at all but there’s no doubt that the original version he did simply remains the best.

Playlist Album


Where to get it

Buy @ Apple Music

More Jahmali Music

Buy @ Apple Music