The Blackstones – Fresh

by Aug 26, 2023Artist, Reviews

The Blackstones - Fresh

Release Info

Stingray Records
Street date
August 18, 2023
Website Record Label
Website Artist


1 Pick Up The Pieces feat. Frenchie King
2 Ain’t Too Proud to Beg
3 If I Follow That Girl
4 Stranger In Love
5 Lorraine Lorraine
6 Soul Power
7 I Was Born To Be Loved
8 Loving Pauper
9 How Sweet It Is feat. Frenchie King
10 Break Your Promise
11 Heart break Girl / Love Will Find Its Way, Medley
12 I’ll Never Let You Go
13 We Are In Love
14 Swept For You Baby
15 Baby Love
16 Freedom Blues
17 Mission Is Impossible
18 Man’s Temptation
19 Love Between A Boy & Girl
20 You And I
21 Dreamland
22 Black Gold And Green feat. Frenchie King

Based in the UK, The Blackstones are a vocal trio formed in 1974, in the tradition of a Jamaican harmony-trio. Recently The Blackstones have been joined by A.J Franklin to make up the current line-up. Franklin has joined up with Leon Leiffer, Tony Mahoney and Junior Bailey. One now takes a look at the first 10 tracks on this 22 track album.

1. PICK UP THE PIECES. This is not a version of the Average White Band hit from the ’70s but a cool laid-back soulful number on which we have all the group members on vocals. This is a rendition of The Royals’ classic song. 2. AIN’T TOO PROUD TO BEG. Originally a hit for The Temptations. On this mid-tempo version we have the group members doing a fine job and sounding much like the original hit outfit. 3. IF I FOLLOW THAT GIRL. Another mid-tempo number with a main vocal and other group members helping out. Once again another soulful number. 4. STRANGER IN LOVE. The listener may have heard this previously by John Holt and on this we have a top-notch main vocal. The rhythm track is mid-tempo and floats along. One of the best tracks on the album. 5. LORAINE LORAINE. This has a punchy rhythm track and combined group vocals. Another soulful number, very well put over. 6. SOUL POWER. Good title as this is soulful and powerful cover of The Heptones’ 1969 tune with a clear vocal, as on all tracks. More of the same combined vocals over a slightly slower rhythm track. 7. I WAS BORN TO BE LOVED. In the same mode of the previous track and another fine soulful number. The vocals combine and are in front of a slightly slower rhythm track as on the previous track. 8. LOVING PAUPER. Many Jamaican artists have recorded this song, Dobby Dobson, Gregory Isaacs, and Freddie McGregor to name three. This version is equally as good and has another punchy mid-tempo rhythm track. The vocals are spot on. 9. HOW SWEET IT IS feat. FRENCHIE. This is not the Tamla-Motown song but a cool slice of classy Reggae and features on lead vocal an artist one has not come across before. The rhythm track is classic Reggae and need I say the vocals are first-class. 10. BREAK YOUR PROMISE. Once again we have a mid-tempo number on which there is not really a main vocal, with all group members chipping in throughout. Soulful sound once again with a punchy rhythm track and fine backing vocals.

Whilst listening and reviewing the above tracks one has become very interested in The Blackstones sound and will be looking out for more of their recordings. If you like your Reggae with a soulful sound then this album could be for you, along with good production work from Dillie Stingray and Leon Leiffer. Having selected various tracks it becomes obvious that The Blackstones are a quality outfit and the other recordings on the album will be more of the same. Stingray Records are currently releasing quality material and at £10.00 this is no exception and could fit into any Reggae/Pop music collection.

Playlist Album


Where to get it

Buy @ Apple Music

More Blackstones Music

Buy @ Apple Music