Stephen Marley – Old Soul

by Sep 18, 2023Mini-Review, Reviews

Stephen Marley - Old Soul

Release Info

Tuff Gong Collective/UMe/Ghetto Youths International
Street date
September 15, 2023
Website Artist


1. Don’t You Believe
2. Cool As The Breeze
3. Cast The First Stone feat. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley
4. Thanks We Get (Do Fi Dem) feat. Buju Banton
5. Don’t Let Me Down
6. Georgia On My Mind
7. Let The Children Play
8. Old Soul
9. There’s A Reward feat. Ziggy Marley
10. This Time
11. These Foolish Things (Reminds Me Of You)
12. I Shot The Sheriff feat. Eric Clapton
13. Standing In Love feat. Slightly Stoopid
14. Winding Roads feat. Jack Johnson,Bobby Weir & Wolf Bros

Stephen “Ragga” Marley, a recipient of eight Grammy Awards, has recently launched his fifth solo album, titled Old Soul, via digital platforms. Later this year, fans can anticipate the release of a CD and limited edition double vinyl. Based on the album’s acoustic-inspired sound and the historical musical preferences of the Grammy board, it is highly likely that this release will earn Marley his ninth Grammy Award.

During the COVID-19 lockdown, Stephen Marley established a new studio on a remote family farm in the Florida countryside where most of the tracks for this album were recorded. Only one song, Winding Roads, which embraces a float-along style of Americana, was recorded with a full band at Bob Weir’s TRI Studios. The remaining tracks on Old Soul showcase a minimalist ensemble consisting of binghi drums, bass, acoustic guitar, piano, and flute.

To clarify, the album Old Soul is not really a reggae album and therefore may not appeal to diehard reggae heads. However, it cannot be denied that both vocally and musically, it is of excellent quality, which will surely attract a wide audience. Old Soul explores a diverse range of cultures and genres through its musical offerings. The tracks include original compositions as well as renditions of beloved reggae songs such as Thanks We Get (Do Fi Dem) and There’s A Reward. Additionally, the album features timeless classics by renowned artists like Ray Charles (Georgia On My Mind), Frank Sinatra (These Foolish Things (Reminds Me Of You)), and The Beatles (Don’t Let Me Down).

Stephen Marley is joined by a stellar lineup of guests on six tracks, including Bob Weir, Eric Clapton, Buju Banton, San Diego reggae band Slightly Stoopid, and his brothers Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley and Ziggy Marley. While the album may not fully satisfy hardcore reggae enthusiasts, it still offers many enjoyable listening moments for lovers of good music. Personal favourites include the thought-provoking collaboration with Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley on the song Cast The First Stone, as well as the previously released single and title track Old Soul. Additionally, enjoyable to listen to are also Stephen & Ziggy’s homage to Joe Higgs through their remake of his song There’s A Reward, and the song Thanks We Get (Do Fi Dem) featuring Buju Banton. This track is an interpretation of the Junior Byles 1974 song written by Lee “Scratch” Perry which is also known as Ungrateful Skank.

Playlist Album


Where to get it

Buy @ Apple Music

More Stephen Marley Music

Buy @ Apple Music