Nga Han – Temple In Man

by Oct 13, 2023Mini-Review, Reviews

Nga Han - Temple In Man

Release Info

Majestic Vision Music / Roots Unity Music
Street date
September 30, 2023
Bandcamp Record Label


1. Days Gone Past
2. Once Again
3. Temple In Man
4. Prayer
5. Revolute
6. Until War
7. Word Sound Power
8. When Jah Speak
9. Nothing New
10. Inner View

Majestic Vision Music from the UK released 50 copies of a 10″ vinyl single in August 2022. The single included the meditative vocal tracks Inner View and Temple In Man, along with their dub versions. These vocal tracks were to be featured in Nga Han’s upcoming album, set to be released in late 2022 or early 2023. However, the release of Nga Han’s fourth full-length album, produced by Majestic Vision Music in collaboration with Roots Unity Music from the Netherlands, took longer than expected. Roots Unity Music is the production team and label behind Nga Han’s acclaimed 2020 album, The Living Stream: Chapter One.

Nga Han’s new album’s title and theme draw inspiration from R.A. Schwaller de Lubicz’s “The Temple In Man”, delving into the connection between macrocosmic sacred geometry and micro mystic revelations. It serves as a poignant reminder that our devotion lies not in physical forms or man-made structures, but in the untamed and transcendent divinity that resides within every cell, atom, and being.

Nga Han, a Jamaican spiritual roots revivalist, has proven once again his skill for crafting powerful lyrics in his latest release. The poetic content of each track showcases his talent as a wordsmith, a quality that his fans have come to appreciate in his previous releases. Time spent exploring the album reveals a collection of tunes that emit a serene and calming vibe. The musicality of the album, from start to finish, is exceptional, and credit is due to the talented instrumentalists who helped bring it to life. Supported by expertly crafted majestic roots riddims, Nga Han’s profound words are given the perfect backdrop. The album begins with the captivating track Days Gone Past, which sets the tone for the rest of this project. Its mesmerizing percussion-driven riddim creates a mood that is both beautiful and entrancing. From there, listeners are taken on a thoroughly enjoyable and highly inspiring musical adventure that is peppered with standout moments. The initial listen might not fully capture the brilliance of the title track, Temple In Man, but after repeated listens, it becomes clear that it is a compelling and worthwhile effort. The haunting and thought-provoking song, Revolute, also reveals its true strength with each listen. When Jah Speak, a powerful Rastafarian anthem, is undeniably one of the standout tracks on the album. Closing out this throughout worthwhile collection is the familiar yet exhilarating Inner View, featuring the captivating sound of the trombone and trumpet played by Dave ‘King David Horns’ Andrews and Cyrus Yeomans.

Absolutely not to be missed for anyone who considers himself to be a true roots reggae lover.