Soom T – The Louder The Better

by Oct 23, 2023Mini-Review, Reviews

Soom T - The Louder The Better

Release Info

X-Ray Production
Street date
October 13, 2023
Website Record Label
Facebook Artist


01. Don’t Make Me
02. Good Will Come
03. Free The Man
04. Bad Road
05. Michael
06. Path Of The Wanderer feat. Tom Fire
07. No Worries
08. Prophets
09. Ezekiel’s Vision
10. Like A Dog
11. Normal People
12. Walk The Earth
13. Emergency feat. Sonny Green
14. Fly My Bird
15. Hail To Watchman
16. There Is Love

Glasgow-based international singer/songwriter Soom T, also known as “The Raggamuffin Queen,” has released her sixth studio album entitled The Louder The Better, following her last year’s album Good. This 16-track project combines studio recordings with a live band and digital compositions. Soom T began working on this album approximately three years ago, starting with the first live band recordings that took place in Brazil during the 2020 pandemic. Over the past few months, no less than eight tracks from the album have been released as singles on digital download and streaming platforms, building anticipation among fans of the Scottish artist for the release of The Louder The Better.

Soom T, along with executive producer Kunta, has taken on the task of producing the entire album herself for her own label Renegade Masters. In addition, she collaborated with various other contributors, including Christian Cowlin, a sound engineer from the Wailers, to create some of the tracks. As a result, the album features a mix of roots reggae style riddims in songs such as the captivating opener Don’t Make Me, the well-done roots piece Prophets, and also No Worries and There Is Love. The album also includes some tracks with a pop influence such as Path Of The Wanderer, written by Frenchman Tom Fire. US producer Terry Vibes provides support for Soom T on poppy sounding tracks like Fly My Bird and Good Will Come.

Notable tracks on the album include the digitally infused Bad Road, Emergency, and Normal People, were produced by Dr Bud from France. These efforts evoke memories of the birth of digital dancehall in 1985 when Wayne Smith’s Sleng Teng took the Jamaican dance halls by storm. Other noteworthy songs are Like A Dog, produced by Irie Ites, and Walk The Earth, featuring UK’s renowned riddim section Mafia & Fluxy. The highly original Hail To The Watchman should also not be disregarded. Soom T fearlessly addresses important social issues, injustices, and the battle for equality, while also maintaining a focus on her spirituality. Nevertheless, her main objective is consistently evident: to disseminate a constructive, encouraging, and motivating message.

Soom T’s album, The Louder The Better, showcases her versatility as an artist as she seamlessly adapts to various styles and vibes, providing listeners a diverse collection of tunes.

Playlist Album


Where to get it

Buy @ Apple Music

More Soom T Music

Buy @ Apple Music