Tapper Zukie – Bunker Buster

by Dec 7, 2023Mini-Review, Reviews

Tapper Zukie - Bunker Buster

Release Info

Kingston Sounds / Tappa Records Jamaica
CD / LP / DR
Street date
December 1, 2023


1. Aquarius feat. Horace Andy
2. Nuh Fraid A Dem feat. Luciano
3. The Blessings feat. Michael Rose
4. Wicked feat. Little Roy
5. Stress feat. Beres Hammond
6. Bunker Buster
7. Lucky Friend feat. The Tamlins
8. The Light In Me feat. Ronnie Davis
9. Humble Lion feat. Junior Rass
10. Warrior feat. Junior Reid
11. Inna We Life feat. Lonie
12. Flesh and Blood feat. Half Pint
13. Black Notes
14. Corn feat. Noel Barnes (Marksman Mix)
15. Me History
16. It’s Your Day feat. Pam Hall

After being released on LP and CD (with 4 bonus tracks) by UK-based Kingston Sounds, Tapper Zukie’s 2022 album Bunker Buster has now been digitally issued on download and streaming platforms through the artist/producer’s own Tappa Records Jamaica imprint. In an interview with Jamaica Observer writer Kediesha Perry, Tapper Zukie stated that he’s aiming to reintroduce music from previous releases in digital spaces.

On this full-length studio album, the since 1973 London-based Tapper Zukie is joined by the cream of fellow Jamaican artists. Such is the veteran’s standing in the reggae community that his call out to the various vocalists was readily answered. Their contributions bring a refreshing blend of styles and talent to this diverse collection. From the moment listeners hit the play button, Bunker Buster transports them to a nice reggae soundscape. The blend of pulsating bass lines and catchy riddims creates an auditory experience that is as captivating as it is euphonious.

The first song on the album features Horace Andy’s distinct vocals on a rendition of the popular 1967 hit Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In by the US pop group 5th Dimension. It’s a nice opener, but nothing particularly noteworthy. A far better and more entertaining track is Nuh Fraid A Dem, which includes the ‘Messenjah’ Luciano. Another standout is The Blessings, featuring Michael Rose’s signature Waterhouse style singing, which adds a magical touch to the song. Wicked, a collaboration with Little Roy, is delivered over an excellent classic riddim and fits well with the previous two tracks. The sufferer’s tune Stress, featuring Tapper Zukie’s deejaying and Beres Hammond’s soulful voice, concludes the first section of collaborations. Tapper Zukie is then giving way with two solo efforts, the solid title track Buster Bunker and Lucky Friend, a reworking of his tune Good Luck My Friend, with backing vocals provided by The Tamlins.

Next, listeners are once again presented with a selection of five combination songs, beginning with the heartfelt track The Light In Me. This exceptional tune showcases the incredible vocals of the late, esteemed singer Ronnie Davis. Tapper Zukie collaborates with Junior Rass on the solid roots piece Humble Lion, while Junior Reid adds his vocal talents to Warrior, which carries a nostalgic early ’80s style beat. However, the songs Inna We Life, featuring contributions from female singer Lonie, and Flesh And Blood, which includes Half Pint, are not as impressive. Finally, the digitally released album comes to an end with the inclusion of the four CD bonus tracks. Of particular note is the semi-acoustic hymn Black Notes, which is definitely worthy of repeating.

With its catchy riddims, thought-provoking lyrics, Zukie’s inimitable style and notable guest appearances, the Bunker Buster album is worth checking.

Nuh Fraid A Dem feat. Luciano

The Blessings feat. Michael Rose

Wicked feat. Little Roy

The Light In Me feat. Ronnie Davis


Where to get it

Buy @ Apple Music

More Tapper Zukie Music

Buy @ Apple Music