Various – Gotcha Covered

by Jun 24, 2018Mini-Review, Reviews

Various - Gotcha Covered
Chuck Foster

Release Info

Various – Gotcha Covered

Label: Catch Me Time Records | Format: CDDR | Street date: June 12, 2018


  1. Jahmali – Ababa Jon Hoy
  2. Catch Me Time All-Stars – Ababa Dub
  3. Empress Akua – Don’t Stay Away
  4. Universal Speakers – The Tide Is High
  5. Catch Me Time All-Stars – Dub Tide
  6. Catch Me Time All-Stars – Three The Hard Way
  7. Jahmali – Monday To Monday
  8. Catch Me Time All-Stars – One Way To Dub
  9. Empress Akua – I’m Still In Love With You Boy
  10. Universal Speakers – Uptown Top Ranking
  11. Catch Me Time All-Stars – Uptown Dub
  12. Ranking Joe – Dub Plate Special
  13. Ras Sal Navarette – Police And Thieves
  14. Catch Me Time All-Stars – Cops and Robbers Dub
  15. Chuck and Jordan – Twelve Gates Into The City
  16. Catch Me Time All-Stars – Twelve Gates In Dub

Six years after the release of his interesting and well-received all-female project “We Roots”, longtime LA reggae radio host, writer, musician, singer and producer Chuck Foster returns with a brand new project released on his own label called Catch Me Time Records. This time it’s a set of mainly reworkings of classic reggae songs done by artists and musicians from Jamaica and Southern California. The final result is an album with an eclectic mix of roots, lovers, dub and dancehall presented inna Showcase style with nearly every song followed by a dub version.

One of Jamaica’s finest singers, Jahmali, opens the album in great style with his lovingly done version of Dennis Brown’s awesome roots tune “Ababa Jon Hoy” from 1987. One of the album’s highlights, which furthermore include Empress Akua’s interpretation of Phyllis Dillon’s Treasure Isle hit tune “Don’t Stay Away”, Ras Sal Navarette’s superb rendition of Junior Murvin’s roots anthem “Police And Thieves”, the “Dub Plate Special” from rub-a-dub master Ranking Joe, and the album’s lone original “Monday To Monday”, which comes across the riddim track for the instrumental “Three The Hard Way”. Also most of the dub versions are definitely worth hearing more than once.

The album closes with the beautiful “Twelve Gates To The City”, inspired by chapter 21 of the Book of Revelation, where John’s vision of the New Jerusalem is described, is a classic gospel song with versions from artists such as the inestimable Reverend Gary Davis, The Weavers, Joan Baez and Carly Simon.

A lively and engaging collection.


Buy @ an Amazon store near you