Various – Baltimore Riddim

by Mar 11, 2019Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Various – Baltimore Riddim

Label: Idlers Corner Records | Format: DR | Street date: March 11, 2019


  1. Yami Bolo – Get It Together
  2. M.Parvez aka The Dub Factory – Stand Firm
  3. Little Kirk – Mankind (Baltimore Mix)
  4. Isiah Mentor – Lawless Rebel
  5. Blackout JA – Music
  6. Michael Fabulous – Why I Love Jah So
  7. Marshall Neeko – Baltimore Dub

Various - Baltimore Riddim

The much versioned “Baltimore” riddim, which was derived from the Randy Newman song and constructed inna reggae dancehall style & fashion by the riddim twins Sly & Robbie back in 1980, has been revived once again. This time this very infectious backdrop has been picked up by French producer, engineer and label owner Marshall Neeko of Idlers Corner Records.

Featured on this ‘one riddim’ set is a nice line-up of vocalists including veterans from the ’80s, Yami Bolo, Little Kirk, Isiah Mentor aka Lilly Melody and Michael Fabulous. The first two artists utilize a wailing singing style, which actually became known as the Waterhouse sound. Yami Bolo opens this collection with the powerful message tune “Getting It Together”, showing that he’s still capable of delivering a strong effort when the riddim just fits him well. Next comes the solid “Stand Firm” by M.Parvez aka The Dub Factory, who’s known for his works with such UK scene originals as The Vibronics, I-Mitri and Zion Train. Marshall Neeko has remixed Little Kirk’s “Mankind” (opening track from the artist’s “Truly Great EP”) and now it’s even much better than the original piece. Isiah Mentor also does a good job with “Lawless Rebel”, while gravel voiced Blackout JA kills it with “Music”! Before Marshall Neeko’s “Baltimore Dub” rounds off this release, there’s Michael Fabulous’ “Why I Love Jah So”, which makes the least impression of all.

Well worth checking!