Tanto Metro & Devonte – Reggaenometrist

by Apr 14, 2019Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Tanto Metro & Devonte – Reggaenometrist

Label: 29 West / Fat Eyes Productions | Format: DR | Street date: February 22, 2019

  1. Smoke Train
  2. Next Time
  3. Love Song
  4. U Mi Gal
  5. Obey feat. Capleton
  6. Love Will Make You
  7. Pretty City feat. Million Stylez
  8. Tired Of The Sorry
  9. Live As One feat. Mykal Rose
  10. Militant Soldier
  11. Two Face
Tanto Metro & Devonte - Reggaenometrist

Tanto Metro & Devonte are the Jamaican dancehall duo of deejay Tanto Metro and singer Devonte, a vocalist blessed with a silky smooth tenor. In 1996 the two artists established a working partnership and scored a major hit in Jamaica in 1997 with their single “Everyone Falls In Love”, which was followed by an album of the same name produced by Donovan Germain for Penthouse Records. Other singles that found a spot on the international mainstream charts were “Say Whoee”, “Give It To Her” and “I’ve Got News For You”. After a hiatus, in 2015, Tanto Metro and Devonte reconnected with fans through the release of their fourth album titled “Sly & Robbie present Tanto Metro and Devonte”.

Today, the veteran hit makers continue to add magic to the music industry with their usual mixture of melodic hooks, humorous lines and catchy riddims as can be experienced while listening to their recently released fifth studio album called “Reggaenometrist”. For the latter the duo teamed up with producers Lynford ‘Fatta’ Marshall of Fat Eyes Productions, Richard ‘Bello’ Bell of 29 West Production and Paul “Patchy” Wright of Island Yard Productions (for the track “Live As One”). Remarkable is the involvement of Richard Bell, whose Star Trail label was a dominant force in the 1990s.

“Reggaenometrist” features a few songs on reworked classic reggae riddims like the solid “Smoke Train” on the “M16” riddim and the real nice “Next Time” on the “African Beat” riddim. And also “Tired Of The Sorry” comes across a well known classic reggae backdrop. Besides that there’s a series of serious body-moving party bangers included on this album like “Love Song” on the infectious “Bam Bam” aka “Murder She Wrote” riddim, “Love Will Make You”, and “Two Face”. And then there are also three collaboration tunes included: “Obey” featuring Capleton, “Pretty City” featuring Swedish singjay Million Stylez, and “Live As One” featuring Grammy kid Mykal Rose. Especially “Obey” and – to a lesser extent – “Pretty City” are worth hearing

A decent album from this always entertaining vocal duo.