Bobby Hustle – Wolaba Vibes: The Costa Rica Sessions

by May 24, 2019Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Bobby Hustle – Wolaba Vibes: The Costa Rica Sessions

Label: Costa Rebel Studio | Format: DR  | Street date: May 24, 2019

  1. Wolaba Vibes
  2. Strong Weed feat. Talawa Reggae Army
  3. Cold World feat. Ras Manuel
  4. I’ll Be There
  5. The Wall feat. Jah Fabio
  6. Feel No Pain feat. Rapha Pico
Bobby Hustle - Wolaba Vibes

Wolaba is the local term for the area surrounding Puerto Viejo, in Limon Provence, on the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Recognizing its strong but unique Jamaican heritage, a new visitor might think they’ve teleported from Costa Rica to the beaches of Negril. Rice and peas, patties, fresh sugarcane, Jamaican patois and reggae music are all a part of daily life in Wolaba.

“Wolaba Vibes: The Costa Rica Sessions” features a collection of songs Bobby Hustle wrote and recorded in 2016 while awaiting his eventual charges and trial in Costa Rica after being arrested for possession of marijuana. Featuring exclusive production from the Costa Rican musical stalwart Costa Rebel, Bobby Hustle’s six track EP includes a few guest appearances from friends from the Costa Rican reggae scene, so English and Spanish converse back and forth throughout this project.

The Seattle WA born and raised singer gets things going with the infectious title track of the EP across the “Rise Up” riddim, which brings some nice chill out vibes and creates a relaxing summer feel. Next comes “Strong Weed”, a decent ganja song with a guest appearance from the Costa Rican band Talawa Reggae Army. “Cold World” is a well done collaboration with another Tico, Rasta Manuel. An solid message song that makes you wanna move your dancing feet. Then there’s the fine love song “I’ll Be There”, featuring the sweet stylings of Costa Rican guitarist Nacho Paez of Cocofunka. The EP is rounded off with two combination tune, starting with the fine lovers piece “The Wall” featuring rising Mexican star Jah Fabio. It’s followed by “Feel No Pain”, a collaboration with Holland-based roots singer Rapha Pico. Although musically this song sounds fine, its lacklustre lyrics doesn’t make it an appealing track.

A thoroughly entertaining EP.