Various – Changed My Mind Riddim

by Aug 28, 2019Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Various – Changed My Mind Riddim

Label: Stingray Records | Format: DR | Street date: August 9, 2019

  1. Freddie Mcgregor – Change My Mind
  2. Andrew Cassanova – Magic Woman
  3. Twiggi – Incapable
  4. Jah Device – You’ll Be There Before You Know
  5. Chardel Rhoden – Wings To Fly
  6. Jj Born2sing – It’s You
  7. Yashema Mcleod – Cry No More
  8. Derrick Campbell – Soul Mate
Various - Change My Mind Riddim

The McLeod brothers of one of the world’s most underrated imprints, the big and ever reliable Stingray Records from out of the UK, return with another gem of a release – the “Changed My Mind Riddim”. It’s a wonderful relick of the old Studio One riddim that underpinned Alton Ellis’ 1969 cover of the Tyrone Davis soul classic “Can I Change My Mind”. In typical Stingray fashion, this old skool piece makes for an excellent riddim album and, apart from the music, one of the nicest aspects of this release is just how varied the talents are, who have voiced a cut on it.

It’s Studio One veteran Freddie McGregor whose decent cover of the Tyrone Davis/Alton Ellis song heads the bunch of mainly lovers tunes done by mostly rather unknown artists. Besides Freddie McGregor there’s another well known Jamaican artist featured here, Marie Gittens aka Twiggi, who’s probably best remembered for her hits with Donovan Germain’s Penthouse Records in the 1990s. Her soulful smooth voice turns her cut, “Incapable”, into one of this collection’s finest moments. Very nice lovers vibes are also created by fine Jamaican singer Andrew Cassanova (“Magic Woman”), talented songstress Chardel Rhoden (“Wings To Fly”) and Yashema Mcleod, whose warm soothing tone comes across with great emotion in the lovers lament “Cry No More”. Conscious vibes come to the fore in “You’ll Be There Before You Know” from Nigerian reggae singer, songwriter and producer Jah Device, one of the highlights here.

Definitely check this one out. Guaranteed nice music!