Various – Main Dish Riddim

by Jan 12, 2020Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Various – Main Dish Riddim

Label: World A Muzik/Runn Records | Format: DR | Street date: January 10, 2020

  1. Barry O’Hare – Main Dish Riddim
  2. Everton Blender – Babylon Nuh Care
  3. Lutan Fyah – Words Never Fail
  4. Chezidek – Iron Heart
  5. Anthony Que – Warrior
  6. Prezident Brown – Same Song
  7. Keithy Foundation – All Over The World
  8. Geoffrey Star – Anything You Want
  9. Live Wyya – Rise Natty Rise
  10. Rayven Amani – See Me And Me Natty
  11. Lisa Danger – Power Struggle
  12. Djani – Mek It Shine
  13. Magano – When Belly Hungry
  14. John Junior – Love Will
  15. Publik Report – Stand Firm
  16. Teeardropz – Trodding
Various - Main Dish Riddim

It’s about 17 years ago that the last full length album coming from the collaboration between Jamaican musician/producer Barry O’Hare (owner of the XRated Records & World A Muzik imprints), and the Netherlands based Reggae label Runn Records hit the streets. It was an 18-track one-riddim set titled “Pressure”, which featured tunes done by well known artists as well as talented upcomers from Jamaica and Europe.

After a very long hiatus, a brand new collaboration project has been released called “Main Dish Riddim”. The riddim, a relicked version of Black Uhuru’s “Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner”, has been laid by Barry O’Hare (keyboards), Ian “Beezy” Coleman (guitar), Joslyn “Speckle” McKenzie (drums & percussion), Maurice “Jah Lloydie” Duncan (bass), Dean Fraser (saxophone), Hopeton “Peas Head“ Williams (trumpet) and the late Roland “Nambo” Robinson (trombone).

The “Main Dish Riddim” is a clearly well-crafted set, brimming with top and diverse vocal talents. The interesting looking line-up includes names of internationally well known artists who have earned their credentials in the past decades as well as promising up-and-comers who are eager to establish their name in the reggae arena. There’re some really strong selections on the “Main Dish Riddim” – not the least of which are potentially stellar efforts from the likes of Everton Blender, Lutan Fyah, Chezidek and the underrated Anthony Que. Furthermore there are also lovely tracks delivered by Prezident Brown, Geoffrey Star, Live Wyya, and Lisa Danger whose “Power Struggle” is golden. Surely not the names that might ring a bell, but nevertheless worth checking are Rayven Amani, Magano and Teeardropz, who have contributed some fine cuts. Also worth mentioning is the inclusion of a tune by Keith Douglas aka Keithy Foundation, who in the ’80s/’90s was the lead vocalist of the disbanded roots trio Foundation from the Port Maria area.

And there is even more new music in the pipeline! So who knows, after their critical acclaimed and successful mid-’90s releases there’s hopefully gonna be a next noteworthy period coming out of this tried and trusted collaboration.

All in all this is a real fine juggling set that should not be overlooked.