Various – Just Another Day

by Feb 14, 2020Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Various – Just Another Day

Label: Mun Mun International | Format: DR | Street date: February 14, 2020

  1. Crysla (feat. Marvellous) – Just Another Day
  2. Fire Flames (feat. Xedus) – Come Back To Me
  3. Fire Flames – Vex With It
  4. Dizzle JA – Easy
  5. Barrington Bentley – Since I’ve Been Around You
  6. Xedus – Praise Jah Name
  7. Trapycal – Girl Wind For Me
  8. Fire Flames (feat. K I) – I Just Can’t Believe
  9. Colour Red – Universal Problem
  10. Marvellous – Watch What You Teach
  11. Mun Mun All Stars – If I Don’t Have You Instrumental Dub
Various - Just Another Day
Just released and in digital stores now is the brand new 11-track compilation album “Just Another Day”, produced by Emmanuel ‘Rude’ Davies for Rude Productions. This set features five different riddims voiced by several singers and deejays hailing out of St. Thomas JA plus a dub instrumental.

The best known artist, also internationally, featured here is veteran roots singer Colour Red, who worked with Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry in the 1970s. His tune “From Creation”, at first inaccurately credited to Junior Byles, was a real dancehall favourite, while another song, “Judgement Day”, was a minor hit within the international reggae arena. Also Marvellous is an artist who has attracted attention from reggae fans worldwide. However the remaining names featured on this compilation are, even to reggae and dancehall connoisseurs, rather unknown.

The biggest offerings are kept until the album’s end. Colour Red makes the largest contribution with the roots killer “Universal Problem”. A real big tune that justly gets the repeat treatment! The same goes for the conscious piece “Watch What You Teach” by Marvellous. The album is rounded off by the wicked roots riddim that underpins both tunes. The best of the rest are the lovers pieces “Come Back To Me” by Fire Flames feat. Xedus and Barrington Bentley’s “Since I’ve Been Around You”, and the fast-tempo dancehall tune “Girl Wind For Me” by Trapycal.

All in all a nice compilation, although the mixture of styles might not appeal to everyone.