The San Antones – Riverwalkin’ Love Ranger

by Apr 6, 2020Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

The San Antones – Riverwalkin’ Love Ranger

Label: Sonority Music Group | Format: DR | Street date: March 20, 2020

  1. Passin’ Lamapasas
  2. No Saguaro
  3. Stone Oak Fling
  4. Luckenback
  5. Sweetwater
  6. Organ At Night
  7. Passin’ Lamapasas In Dub
  8. Dub Saguaro
  9. Stone Oak Dub
  10. Lucken Dub
  11. Dub Water
  12. Dub At Night
The San Antones - Riverwalkin’ Love Ranger

Founded in 2018, The San Antones from the big state of Texas, have released their sophomore full length album entitled “Riverwalkin’ Love Ranger”, which follows up their 2018 released debut album “The Walking Texas Danger”.

Long time friends, Kevin Groeneveld (strings) and Geo Ramos (drums) came up with the idea for The San Antones project after putting their blood, sweat and tears into previous bands for nearly a decade. They decided to begin creating new melodies and inspiration with a more laid back approach instead of putting the pressure of expectations, deadlines and any other business-related roadblocks in the back of their minds. They now generate a modern, yet classic sound, with the band deriving its roots from the love, admiration and respect for the Reggae music genre.

“Riverwalkin’ Love Ranger” is an instrumental throwback to the golden era of Reggae with a dash of Texas twang. It’s a tribute to real Jamaican Roots Reggae and not the pop version that is so often heard echoing from North America. The San Antones play roots but masterfully inject a hint that this is still Texas Reggae. Featured on this entertaining album are six original instrumentals with their respective dub versions. Heavily involved in this project is musician/producer/engineer Roger Rivas, who plays for several Los Angeles based Reggae bands including The Aggrolites, The Bullets, and The Brothers Of Reggae. He plays organ on the entire album and also did the mixing and mastering.

This album offers a blend of classic and modern instrumental reggae with sweet guitar licks, heavy bass lines and nice vibes. Well done!!