Various – Mama Afrika

by Jun 28, 2020Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Various – Mama Afrika

Label: Nyah Bless Music | Format: DR | Street date: June 19, 2020


  1. Black Dillinger – Afrikan People
  2. Teacha Dee – Train Delay
  3. Natty King – Powers
  4. Karamanti – Stand
  5. Rebellion The Recaller – Woman
  6. Greg Roy – Revolution
  7. Prince Osito – Afrikan Child
  8. Iam Malakhi – Gideon Army
  9. Obibini Blackdin – I Love You More
  10. JR Blessington – Question Asking
  11. Milton Blake – Walk My Walk
  12. Marga Mbande – Afrika For Me
  13. Charli Fletcher – Love Is Working
  14. Avalanche – Standing On The Mountain
  15. City Lock – Ruff Ruff
  16. Blessed San – Mama Afrika
Various - Mama Afrika

Produced by Hopeton Brown and Franz Richards for US based Nyah Bless Music, “Mama Afrika” features 16 tracks delivered by artists from Jamaica and several African countries including Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, and Uganda. They bring a compelling mixture of cultural reggae and solid lyrical content promoting positive awareness. Every artist has his own specific style and performs superbly on the delightful sounding roots reggae riddim, which was recorded at BMR Recording Studios in Philadelphia PA.

There are some really strong selections on this absolutely sprawling juggling project including the opener “Afrikan People” by Black Dillinger from the rough ghettos of Cape Town, South Africa, and the original teacher “Teacha Dee”, who has places to go and things to do with his rendition of “Train Delay”. And then there’s Jamaican Reggae/Dancehall artist Karamanti, whose “Stand” is a powerful and riveting track that pushes back against principalities, powers, and spiritual wickedness in high places.

Natty King, the Man from the East, is all about “Powers”, while Greg Roy follows with “Revolution” in which he asks himself if it will take a revolution to find a solution for the problems in our world. Also overseas based Jamaican artists Iam Malakhi and Milton Blake make a good impression with “Gideon Army” and “Walk My Walk” respectively. Sweet-voiced songstress Charli Fletcher from South Africa draws attention with her uplifting tune entitled “Love Is Working”. Blessed San from Uganda, nicely rounds off with the riddim’s title track “Mama Afrika”.

Well worth tracking down.