Devi Reed – Take It Ovaw

by Jul 14, 2020Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Devi Reed – Take It Ovaw

Label: Khanti Records | Format: CD/DR | Street date: May 15, 2020

  1. This Morning
  2. Life Lover (feat. Skarra Mucci)
  3. High Tide
  4. Wuss Real (feat. Soom T)
  5. À chaque fois
  6. Lâcher prise (feat. Melan)
  7. Le progrès (feat. Losso Keïta)
  8. Sunshine (feat. Mariam)
  9. Everything is here
  10. Semer
  11. Le secret (feat. Ryon)
  12. Free up the land
  13. Let’s go (feat. D-Tox)
  14. Papa ou Maman (feat. Cheeko)
  15. So warm
  16. Awakeness (feat. Omar Perry)
  17. We are not a Mafia (feat. Alerta Kamarada)
  18. Change
Devi Reed - Take It Ovaw
Devi Reed

Toulouse based Devi Reed was the lead singer of the French band The Banyans, with whom he recorded two albums and toured extensively in Europe. In 2016 took off on a promising solo career. He intends to create an appealing mix of several musical styles and influences to obtain a unique sound of his own. The tasteful result is a mix of reggae, hip hop, soul, dancehall, latin, and dance grooves. He writes his music, inspired by the daily life that surrounds him, sometimes in French, sometimes in English.

After the promising mini-album Essence Of Life, he traveled to Cuba and surrounded himself with nuff musicians from Cuba and France. The result was the truly appealing album Ragga Libre, with gloriously danceable vibes. His latest effort is the 18 track album Take It Ovaw.

One Vibe A Week

His project One Vibe a Week aimed to release a new title every Friday for a year. A total of 48 titles spread over four seasons. The result of this unique initiative is the album Take It Ovaw, released on May 15, 2020, one year after the start of the project.

Take It Ovaw

The set is ‘best-of’ album, composed of the 18 best songs, selected by the public. It’s an adventurous journey into music, with influences from around the world. There’s the energetic combination with Skarra Mucci from Jamaica, Soom T, the Scottish artist of Indian origin, teams up in good fashion with Devi and Alerta Kamarada from Colombia joins him inna rub-a-dub style, telling they are not criminals. Just love this track! From Burkina Faso comes Losso Keita, a multi-instrumentalist, blessed with a powerful voice. Together they deliver the outstanding Le Progress. Also worth spinning more than once is his collab with Omar Perry, Awakeness and the album opener This Morning. The latter proves that Devi easily handles rapping duties as well as smooth singing!