Queen Makedah – Peace Process

by Nov 24, 2020Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Queen Makedah – Peace Process

Label: Oriyah Music | Format: CD-DR | Street date: September 30, 2020

  1. I Am Shem
  2. Suspicious
  3. Lay Down Your Guns (Hip-Hop Reggae Version) feat. Courtney Bell
  4. Clean Hands
  5. Holy Mount Zion feat. Balance thee EkwayZion aka Yo-Ahd
  6. Heal The Earth
  7. Hoo Yahvo
  8. Deliver Us Part II feat. Balance thee EkwayZion aka Yo-Ahd
  9. Love Grows
  10. Blessed
  11. Happy Is He
  12. Babylon Food
  13. King Queen Riddim feat. Toussaint the Liberator
  14. Lay Down Your Guns Instrumental feat. Xavier Fleming
Queen Makedah - Peace Process


After having released the debut album The Awakening (2000), its follow-up set Spiritual Healing (2009), and an EP entitled Bless Africa (2009), singer-songwriter Queen Makedah is finally back with her third full-length album Peace Process. The latter conceived about seven years ago, while teaching and living in the Bay Area of California – Richmond and Oakland. Inspiration for her new album came from experiences and seeing headline after headline about gang violence and high homicide rates for black and brown youth, which had a deep impact on her. The album features a few collaborations, most notably with Zion I Kings and Jamaican producer/bass player Christopher Meredith.

Peace Process contains 14 worthwhile tracks full of consciousness and sonically this album is topnotch, a real treat for the listener’s eardrums. Most of the offerings are underpinned by appealing original reggae backdrops, which are stamped with quality all over. They are complemented by Queen Makedah’s beautiful vocal delivery which shines on every song.

Getting things started on Queen Makedah’s third album is definitely one of the highlights, the huge I Am Shem, one of four collaborations with the ever-reliable Zion I Kings – David ‘Jah D’ Goldfine, Laurent ‘Tippy I’ Alfred, and Andrew ‘Moon’ Bain. The other three tunes are Suspicious, Heal The Earth, and Hoo Yahvo, all of them leaving a good impression. In particular the moving social commentary Suspicious and Hoo Yahvo are the ones that go on repeat. Other tracks that can be enjoyed to the fullest include the deeply spiritual version of Psalms 24 titled Clean Hands, Holy Mount Zion, Babylon Food, and the gorgeous duet with Toussaint the Liberator, King and Queen Riddim.

All in all, a convincing and satisfying album.

Buy @ Apple Music