The Small Axe People – Walk With God

by Jan 25, 2021Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

The Small Axe People – Walk With God

Label: The Small Axe People | Format: CD | Street date: December 15, 2020

  1. Blessing Of Enoch
  2. The Creation
  3. The Fallen Angels
  4. Intercession Of Angels
  5. Book Of The Word Of Righteousness
  6. Taken By The Angels
  7. Birth Of Noah
  8. Calling Enoch
  9. Judgement Of Angels
  10. Secret Of The Parabels
  11. Enoch Is Taken
  12. The Luminaries Of Heaven
The Small Axe People - Walk With God

Twenty years ago the first Small Axe People album called Original Version hit the streets. Since then a series of albums by The Small Axe People, the brainchild of London-based reggae writer and musician Ray Hurford, have been released with Walk With God being album number 23. While initially the whole concept was based on Andy Capp aka Lynford Anderson’s Pop A Top, it then was broadened with sounds inspired by other early reggae sounds.

And now, about a year after the release of The Older The Moon, there’s The Small Axe People’s next full-length album. The brand new cd, which comes in the popular and more luxurious looking digipack, features – as usual – 12 tracks. After Inyaki Yarritu, founder of Basque Dub Foundation aka BDF had sent him some drum patterns played by one ‘Julian’ in 2018, Ray Hurford started to work on the tracks for this album at his home studio called Area X. When producer Roydale Anderson (owner of labels Andy’s & Sydna) died at the end of that year, the idea was that this set would be a nice tribute to him. Mixing the album was rounded off on November 5, 2019, the day Vaughn Benjamin (Midnite, Akae Beka) unexpectedly died. Being a huge fan of the singer and his music, it was obvious that Walk With God would not only be a tribute to Roydale Anderson, but also to Vaugh Benjamin.

Those familiar with the works of The Small Axe People will experience that Walk With God is one of the most accessible and easier listening Small Axe People albums. It’s a well-varied set of instrumentals with now and then some dubby effects. On most tracks the keyboard is the predominant instrument, but also the melodica plays its role. In all, an interesting release and a nice tribute too.

(You can order the cd HERE)