Various – City Riddim Selection

by Dec 15, 2021Mini-Review, Reviews

Release Info

Various – City Riddim Selection

Label: Oneness Records | Format: DR | Street date: December 10, 2021


01. Luciano – Take Me To The Place
02. Yaadcore – Say That You Love Me
03. Devano – Nah Reverse
04. Lutan Fyah – She Got Stoned
05. Queen Omega – Nice & Clean
06. Iba Mahr – No Vanity
07. Vysionaer – Old Talking
08. Luciano – Take Me To The Place (Umberto Echo Dubmix)
09. City Riddim Instrumental

Various - City Riddim Selection

Whether it were artist albums or riddim projects, Munich-based Oneness Records have made some of the absolute finest reggae music in the past fifteen years. When it comes to producing and releasing high quality reggae music, they surely have managed to become one of the most reliable reggae labels in the world.

After the earlier this year released Princess Riddim, which was done in collaboration with Germany-based Real People Music, Oneness Records now presents a brand new roots juggling project entitled City Riddim. The latter is a smooth, shuffled one drop with a punchy bassline and a wonderful horn section. When looking at the roster of artists who have voiced a tune over the riddim, it’s obvious that the listener is treated to an assembly of some of the finest voices of modern roots reggae as it features veterans and rising stars.

The biggest name on this selection is 1990s roots reggae veteran Luciano, an artist who never fails to impress when he’s collaborating with Oneness Records’ production team. This is once again underscored by his absolutely delightful social commentary Take Me To The Place, Besides the opening track there’s also a second version included, Umberto Echo’s heavy dub mix. Lutan Fyah has become a household name since he earned his place in the forefront of reggae music in the mid-2000s. His storytelling tune, She Got Stoned, is a very interesting piece to say the least and one that you really need to pay attention to. Trini Roots Empress Queen Omega delivers a very joyful moment for the listener’s eardrums with the powerful sung Nice & Clean. Iba Mahr also takes top honours here with No Vanity, Rising reggae don Yaadcore delivers the nice lover’s piece Say That You Love Me. Furthermore there’s burgeoning Jamaican singjay Devano who makes a memorable vocal appearance, while emerging artist Vysionaer’s Old Talking is a solid effort.

Oneness Records have again done a good job. You should definitely get your hands on it when you can.


Buy @ Apple Music


More Oneness Records  Music